log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocketing 8 Ball


Pocketing 8 Ball

What if we pocket the 8 ball ligally in a combination shot but the 8 ball wasn't the first in the combination? How do we continue the game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocketing 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1640596922RayMills on 12/27/2021 6:55:28 AM

    During an 8-Ball game, the 8-ball shot requires that the 8-ball be the first ball contacted by the cue ball; otherwise, the player has fouled because the cue ball first hit a ball from the opponent's side of object balls. If there is a foul, a pocketed 8-ball means loss of game, otherwise the opponent gets the foul "reward" of ball-in-hand.

  2. user1640596922billiardsforum on 12/27/2021 7:04:17 AM

    According to the World Pool-Billiard Association rules for 8-ball pool, this wouldn't be a legal shot.

    Additionally, because the 8-ball was pocketed, the shooting player loses the game.

    For a shot to be legal, you must first contact a ball from your own group. Failure to do so results in a "wrong ball first" foul..

    According to the World Pool and Billiard association rules the shooting player must contact one of her own balls first.

    3.9 Standard Fouls

    If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)

    The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

    • 6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table
    • 6.2 Wrong Ball First The first ball contacted by the cue ball on each shot must belong to the shooter’s group, except when the table is open.

    Additionally, here's the list of automatic game-losing offences in the game of eight ball:

    3.8 Losing the Rack

    The shooter loses if he

    • (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    • (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    • (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
    • (d) drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocketing 8 Ball

  • Title: Pocketing 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/27/2021 1:22:03 AM