log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocketing 2nd Last Ball, and 8 Ball

Pocketing 2nd Last Ball, and 8 Ball

I am pretty sure this is okay, especially if the shooting player calls the shot, but I just wanted to check. The player has just the 6 ball left on the table, then the 8. The way that the balls lay is that if the 6 ball is sunk then the cue ball will hit the 8 ball and it will also go in the pocket. Can the player call the 6 and then the 8 in the same shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocketing 2nd Last Ball, and 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Bill Dixonquickshot on 4/9/2008 8:13:30 PM

    Interesting question. I may be wrong but as far as I know it would be a foul on the shooter. The eight ball is the last man standing and has to be a called shot.

  2. Bill DixonBill Dixon on 4/9/2008 8:20:52 PM

    Yes, but what if before shooting at the six, you realize that the combo shot is possible and call both the six ball and the eight ball?

    I guess there could be a whole book on eight ball fouls.

  3. Bill DixonJJFSTAR on 4/10/2008 12:18:57 PM

    Pocketing the last ball of your designated ball group and the eight ball in the same shot is a loss of game under any national or world recognized rules. Refer to the BCA, world standardized rules or the APA websites. There may be house rules that say you can do it but I strongly recommend that you cease to play under such rules immediately

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Pocketing 2nd Last Ball, and 8 Ball

  • Title: Pocketing 2nd Last Ball, and 8 Ball
  • Author: (William Dixon)
  • Published: 4/9/2008 6:13:19 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/12/2019 2:57:04 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)