log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Touching Pocketed Balls During a Game of 8 Ball


Penalty for Touching Pocketed Balls During a Game of 8 Ball

What is the penalty for touching a pocketed ball with your hand during a game of 8 ball?

What about for picking up and removing a pocketed ball from the pocket (but not putting on the pool table's playing surface) before a game of 8 ball is finished?

In one of our doubles 8-ball games, my partner began picking out some pocketed balls in anticipation of my pocketing a seemingly easy, final 8 ball, but I missed.

The other guys said, and insisted, that because my partner prematurely brought out some pocketed balls, that we automatically lose the game.

I argued that pocketed balls are "dead balls" and that touching them or bringing some out (but not yet placing them on the pool table surface) ahead of my pocketing the 8 ball was not a serious infraction as to cause us to lose the game.

This is my position, and I think I am supported by the rules of the game. I will appreciate your clarification on the matter.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Touching Pocketed Balls During a Game of 8 Ball

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Touching Pocketed Balls During a Game of 8 Ball

  • Title: Penalty for Touching Pocketed Balls During a Game of 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/6/2013 5:12:39 PM
  • Last Updated: 9/22/2016 11:56:01 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)