log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Mistakenly Picking Up the Cue Ball


Penalty for Mistakenly Picking Up the Cue Ball

If someone picks up the cue ball mistakenly thinking he has ball-in-hand but gets stopped before shooting, what is the penalty?

Is the cue replaced as near as can be determined and the player shoots, or does he lose his turn (and if so, is it "cue ball from within the kitchen" or is it shot from where it lies as best can be determined)?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Mistakenly Picking Up the Cue Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Bravehrt87RayMills on 7/19/2021 3:49:20 AM

    The foundation of a pool rules question is to first identify if you're playing in an organized game and which rules it uses.

    Most WPA/BCA and APA organizations state that moving the cue ball for any reason before a shot is a foul and that that shooter gives the opponent the cue ball-in-hand anywhere on the table that doesn't touch another ball.

    Players are often admonished to confirm with the opponent or referee that the cue ball is "fouled" before moving it.

    You mentioned that the player was "stopped before shooting"—I wouldn't be surprised to learn that, if he wasn't, that the foul would be cancelled. However, I don't remember reading it anywhere (except for a player shooting at the wrong side in a game of eight ball pool and quietly returning to the proper side (not that many serious players would let that slip).

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Mistakenly Picking Up the Cue Ball

  • Title: Penalty for Mistakenly Picking Up the Cue Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/10/2021 8:04:54 PM
  • Last Updated: 7/19/2021 3:26:35 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)