log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Opponent Hits 8-Ball to Move it Away from Pocket


Opponent Hits 8-Ball to Move it Away from Pocket

Is it legal for the opponent to try to hit and move the 8-ball away from a pocket?

The scenario is that I've cleared all of my object balls, and my opponent has not. The 8 ball is on the lip of a corner pocket, but it's my opponent's shot.

My opponent tries to hit the 8 ball out of way with the cue ball (and succeeds).

Is this legal?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Opponent Hits 8-Ball to Move it Away from Pocket

Replies & Comments

  1. user1618503499Mitch Alsup on 4/15/2021 9:22:57 AM

    If a player makes contact with a ball other than that of your own group first, it is a foul.

    Note that sometimes a foul is the best option (but very very seldom).

  2. user1618503499RayMills on 4/19/2021 5:13:44 PM

    You asked if the shot was legal, and Mitch has reminded us that sometimes a "foul on purpose" is the best tactic. You didn't say what 8-Ball rules you were using in general, but a ball-in-hand penalty would usually make this tactic moot. So the semantics debate is over what degree of legality. The shot is legal, a non-game-ending penalty is applied, and the game goes on.

    If the opponent used a combination shot to move the 8, there wouldn't be any foul.

    If your opponent's last resort is to make you have a difficult shot on your 8-ball, he doesn't care where the cue ball will be placed, just that the 8-ball is confined somehow by other balls or in what direction you would need to shoot or bank it. Fouls on purpose can be excellent defensive shots, and can put big pressure on an opponent who is stressed by having to figure out a remedy!

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Opponent Hits 8-Ball to Move it Away from Pocket

  • Title: Opponent Hits 8-Ball to Move it Away from Pocket
  • Author: (Kenneth Herb)
  • Published: 4/15/2021 9:18:21 AM
  • Last Updated: 4/19/2021 2:25:38 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)