log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Open Table Question

Open Table Question

My opponent broke the rack, but no balls dropped, so it was an open table. I shot next. My cue made contact with a solid first, and pocketed that solid. The cue ball then rolled into a stripe, pocketing the stripe as well. Would it still be considered an open table, with me continuing to shoot, or would I play solids, since the cue made contact with the solid first, and it was pocketed first?

Any input would be appreciated.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Open Table Question

Replies & Comments

  1. user1490862690billiardsforum on 3/30/2017 5:19:59 AM

    I will assume you are playing "called shot" version of 8 ball.

    You said your cue ball hit a solid ball first and pocketed that solid ball. Assuming you "called" that shot, then that is your group. Any other balls that fall in the course of that shot remain pocketed. Since you contacted your called ball first, no foul occurs, and you continue at the table shooting solids.

  2. user1490862690user1490862690 on 3/31/2017 9:39:56 PM

    Actually, we were not calling our shots, I had always played by the rule that if you make both a solid and a stripe on an open table, then you get to choose whether to be solids or stripes. He said since I made contact with the solid first, then I would be solids.

    Can you clear this up for us? Thank you!

  3. user1490862690billiardsforum on 3/31/2017 10:55:43 PM

    If you aren't calling shots, then you aren't really following any standardized or official 8 ball rules (from which I would quote and reference an answer to your question).

    At that point, there is nothing to clarify (from an "official ruling" standpoint), and the rules are based on whatever you agree to with your opponent, or whatever "house rules" are posted where you are playing.

    8 ball, is by nature, a "called-shot" game. If you aren't calling your shots, then I think it's like banging balls around the table hoping for the best. You can't apply a ruling in those cases, other than something you both agree upon before hand.

    If I had to give an answer, I'd say - If calling your shots, then your friend is correct. If not calling shots, then your way is probably most common.

  4. user1490862690user1506357401 on 9/26/2017 8:02:21 AM

    Since when is 8 ball, by nature, a "called shot" game? I have played in three leagues and tournaments for years in Maryland, and the only 8 ball shot by rule (APA) that needed to be called was the 8 ball. So your answer is ridiculous and wrong (unless you are playing on another planet). I suggest before posting you know what you are talking about. The table is still OPEN.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Open Table Question

  • Title: Open Table Question
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/30/2017 4:31:31 AM