log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is this a standard foul?


Is this a standard foul?

What is the rule if you pocket your ball as planned but the opposing player's ball also then falls in a pocket from the same shot?

Principally, you have made the shot, so do you just play on?

Or is this a foul?

If it's a foul, does the opposing player gets a ball in hand or do he just play the advantage and play on from the where the white cue rests?

Thanks!

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is this a standard foul?

Replies & Comments

  1. huntertristanionutzakis on 4/8/2008 5:32:42 AM

    I would also very much like to know the answer to this question.

  2. huntertristandogassokie on 4/8/2008 7:58:31 AM

    This question is a duplicate of What if you Pocket Your Ball and Your Opponent's Ball?, which has already been answered in detail. See the first answer for a detailed breakdown of how the WPA rules apply.

    In summary, if you hit your ball first and make the shot, then it is still your turn and you may keep playing.

    You should always stipulate BCA rules when you play, or even APA pool league rules (although the APA rules are sometimes at odds with the official BCA rules. If I'm playing for money, not only do I stipulate that we play by official rules, but I also carry a BCA rule book with me. When you hear "bar rules" (which can mean anything), or you hear "we play like that around here" (also known as 'round here rules), you are probably dealing with rednecks and will have a bad game.

  3. huntertristanquickshot on 4/8/2008 9:50:44 AM

    As long as you make the shot, your ball goes into the pocket first, and a ricocheting ball of your opponent rolls into a pocket, it is still a legal shot for you.

    It is not a foul, and you continue your play at the table.

  4. huntertristanhettie on 4/8/2008 9:27:41 PM

    Also note that the opponent's ball (which inadvertently fell into the pocket after yours) shall remain pocketed. It is not spotted.

  5. huntertristancademfjohnson on 4/14/2008 3:53:19 AM

    Where can I get one of those handy 'drunkard-shutter-uppers' that you call the BCA Rule Book? LOL

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is this a standard foul?

  • Title: Is this a standard foul?
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/1/2007 7:15:26 AM