log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is it a Scratch to Hit the 8 Ball First?


Is it a Scratch to Hit the 8 Ball First?

Me and my friend were playing pool the other day when we came to a disagreement in our rules of the game.

I was solids and he was stripes. We both had one ball left on the table. I was shooting at my solid ball when I hit the eight ball first. The eight ball hit one of the walls and ended up in the middle of the table. Meanwhile, the cue ball went into the side pocket.

I was ready to call it a scratch and give the cue ball to my friend when he stated that the game was over since I had hit the 8 ball first and then scratched. I tried to explain to him that I wasn't shooting for the 8 ball and the only way the game can end on a scratch is if I had already pocketed all my balls and had scratched on the 8 ball.

We have been arguing about this for the last couple of days and have been unable to find any rules online specifically related to this situation. If someone could help shine some light on this, we would both appreciate it and could go back to being friends again.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is it a Scratch to Hit the 8 Ball First?

Replies & Comments

  1. Lakers43Zeke on 4/19/2013 4:07:41 PM

    You of course, are correct. I'll take a look at the chapter and verse and post it ASAP.

  2. Lakers43Zeke on 4/20/2013 8:01:14 AM

    The rule that argues in your favor is on this website: Combination Shots

    "Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can't be used as a first ball in the combination unless it is the shooter's only remaining legal object ball on the table. Otherwise, should such contact occur on the 8-ball, it is a foul."

    The rule clearly states hitting the 8-ball first - is a FOUL!

    NOT a - "you lose the game" penalty.

  3. Lakers43billiardsforum on 4/21/2013 6:16:08 AM

    I second Zeke's answer. Also, here is the link to the 8 ball rules that he referenced in his post above.

  4. Lakers43Lakers43 on 4/22/2013 10:07:36 AM

    Thanks! That's exactly what I was looking for. I feel like that is a perfect reference for our situation.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is it a Scratch to Hit the 8 Ball First?

  • Title: Is it a Scratch to Hit the 8 Ball First?
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/18/2013 1:41:31 PM