log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is it a Foul if you Fail to Hit the 8 Ball on your Last Shot?


Is it a Foul if you Fail to Hit the 8 Ball on your Last Shot?

In eight ball, what happens if you don't hit the 8 ball on your last shot?

Is it more than just the standard foul e.g. do you lose the game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is it a Foul if you Fail to Hit the 8 Ball on your Last Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. Lady Harley Diannebilliardsforum on 3/11/2011 4:00:20 PM

    This answer will follow the World Standardized Rules for 8-ball pool. If you are playing anywhere that does not observe WPA rules e.g. anywhere which might have a specific set of "house rules" then you will need to understand those as well.

    When the 8 ball is your object ball, as it was in the case you mentioned, you only "lose the game" if you commit a foul AND the 8-ball is pocketed during the shot. Scenarios falling under this rule would include:

    • Making the 8 ball in a pocket other than the one you called.

    In your case, it sounds like you just failed to touch the 8 ball, but it remained on the table and was not pocketed (how could it be if you didn't touch it, right). This is treated just like any other foul, which in 8-ball, is a penalty of "loss of turn" and "ball-in-hand" anywhere on the table for your opponent.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is it a Foul if you Fail to Hit the 8 Ball on your Last Shot?

  • Title: Is it a Foul if you Fail to Hit the 8 Ball on your Last Shot?
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/22/2010 10:35:11 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/11/2017 3:53:38 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)