log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Hit Opponent's Ball First when Shooting at 8 Ball, Nothing Pocketed


Hit Opponent's Ball First when Shooting at 8 Ball, Nothing Pocketed

We're playing 8 ball pool and I have a question about a possible scratch on the 8 ball.

Here is the scenario:

I'm at the table shooting for the 8 ball. I feel that I can't hit the 8 ball first without scratching. So I tell my opponent I'm going to hit his object ball first into the 8 ball, not to pocket it, but to kick the 8 ball away from his object ball, and then it will be his turn.

  • My opponent says that I scratched because I hit his object ball first.
  • I say that it's simply the end of my turn at the table.

Which one of us is correct?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Hit Opponent's Ball First when Shooting at 8 Ball, Nothing Pocketed

Replies & Comments

  1. George JohnsBudweiser on 10/10/2007 9:21:06 AM

    Yes you did scratch. You need to hit your ball first. If you hit your opponent's ball first then it is a scratch.

  2. George Johnsbbc on 3/14/2008 9:31:33 PM

    Yes it is a scratch, but is it a loss of game since I was shooting at the 8 ball?

  3. George Johnstreehumper on 3/17/2008 11:27:57 AM

    When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. The incoming player has cue ball-in-hand.

    See the first answer on this previous question for the specific rules which apply.

    Unless it's "house rules" this is the rule. Clarify the rules you will play by upfront. Save yourself some grief.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Hit Opponent's Ball First when Shooting at 8 Ball, Nothing Pocketed

  • Title: Hit Opponent's Ball First when Shooting at 8 Ball, Nothing Pocketed
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/13/2007 7:34:59 AM
  • Last Updated: 12/9/2022 6:34:28 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)