log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Eight Ball Shot off Opponent's Ball


Eight Ball Shot off Opponent's Ball

Can you use your opponents ball when shooting the eight ball in a called pocket.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Eight Ball Shot off Opponent's Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1513637860PastorMike on 12/18/2017 9:35:11 PM

    Are you hitting the 8 ball in using their ball first? Or is the 8 ball hitting their ball on the way to the called pocket?

  2. user1513637860billiardsforum on 12/18/2017 10:12:24 PM

    If I understand the original question correctly, the answer is no. If you are calling the eight-ball into a pocket, that would tell me you were shooting stripes and you are now shooting for the eight ball (since if you were solids, you wouldn't be calling the 8 ball yet). In that case, you can't contact an opponent's ball first.

    I believe we beat this horse dead a while back. Give this a read over for info on using the eight ball in combination shots.

  3. user1513637860Loder on 12/20/2017 7:07:59 PM

    Since you are saying "off" of the opponents ball this indicates a carom shot. A carom shot on the 8, is legal in most leagues I've been a part of. The only time I've seen it considered an illegal shot is when house rules are involved.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Eight Ball Shot off Opponent's Ball

  • Title: Eight Ball Shot off Opponent's Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/18/2017 6:17:35 PM
  • Last Updated: 12/18/2017 10:12:50 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)