log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Do You Have to Hit a Rail with a Ball if You Don't Pocket a Ball?


Do You Have to Hit a Rail with a Ball if You Don't Pocket a Ball?

My question is simple:

Do you have to hit a rail with a ball at all times if you fail to pocket a ball during your shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Do You Have to Hit a Rail with a Ball if You Don't Pocket a Ball?

Replies & Comments

  1. michaelrees292billiardsforum on 11/28/2019 1:21:42 AM

    I will assume that you are talking about eight-ball pool as played in North American and as governed by the WPBA.

    According to World Pool-Billiard Association rules for 8-ball, if you fail to pocket an object ball, then you must cause the cue ball to hit at least one object ball, and then the cue ball or any object ball much contact a cushion.

    6.3 No Rail after Contact

    If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play

    This is a standard foul in most cue sport games governed by the WPBA including 8-ball, 9-ball, 10-ball, continuous pool, blackball, and others.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Do You Have to Hit a Rail with a Ball if You Don't Pocket a Ball?

  • Title: Do You Have to Hit a Rail with a Ball if You Don't Pocket a Ball?
  • Author: (Michael Rees)
  • Published: 10/11/2019 9:39:54 PM
  • Last Updated: 11/27/2019 4:38:26 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)