log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Do You Have to Call Combinations in Call-Shot?

Do You Have to Call Combinations in Call-Shot?

Sorry if this question is trivial but I'm new to the game and want to be very clear in my interpretation of the rules.

In the rules the "called shot" seems to refer to the ball that is being pocketed. So if I am stripes and call the 11 in the corner - ok easy. But do I have to call the ball I strike first. So if I play a combination to make the 11 in the corner and say I strike the 10 first do I have to call the 10 specifically? I'm thinking of a case where two stripes might be very close together as my initial struck ball. So perhaps the 9 and 10 are close together - I play the shot and ultimately the 11 does go in the corner as called but did I have to say which stripe I was going to strike first or do I score as long as my first contact is on a stripe and the 11 goes in?

Different variations on this:

  1. If I call "11 in the corner" but I strike the 10 first and the 11 doesn't go in is that just a legal shot but I lose my turn?
  2. If I call "11 in the corner" but I strike the 10 first and the 11 does go in have I scored or do I lose my turn? IE - it was not a combination - the cue ball just happened to glance off the 10 before potting the 11 but I didn't include that detail in my called shot.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Do You Have to Call Combinations in Call-Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. DougFraserbilliardsforum on 11/22/2017 8:07:11 PM

    If you are following BCA rules (which follow the World Pool-Billiard Association rules), you can refer to the General Rules of Pocket Billiards. The way it works is that for most types of cue sports games governed by the BCA/WPA, you follow the "General Rules" first, then apply the rules specific to the particular game you are playing e.g. 8-Ball or 9 Ball.

    Anyway, regarding called shots, see the bolded sections below. The general rules state:

    1.6 Standard Call Shot

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot. For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.

    In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game.

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play/

    I should also mention that it is very common for folks to implement a "call everything" rule (and even some leagues do this), meaning you call the ball, pocket, and any combinations, caroms, etc. Always clarify this, and of course, you can mention that their rule deviates from the WPA's rules.

    And regarding your questions above:

    1. It is a legal shot, but since you didn't pocket any balls, play passes to your opponent.
    2. Legal shot, and you pocketed your called ball in the called pocket. You are good, and your inning continues.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Do You Have to Call Combinations in Call-Shot?

  • Title: Do You Have to Call Combinations in Call-Shot?
  • Author: (Doug Fraser)
  • Published: 11/16/2017 2:09:02 PM
  • Last Updated: 11/22/2017 8:11:25 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)