log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Do Opponent's Balls Pocketed While Scratching Get Re-Spotted?


Do Opponent's Balls Pocketed While Scratching Get Re-Spotted?

In 8 ball, are we supposed to re-spot opponent's balls that get pocketed when scratching the cue ball?

If you scratch the cue ball, and incidentally pocket your opponent's ball (one from the group opposing your group), is that ball still taken out along with the cue ball, like if you were to pocket your own ball during a scratch?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Do Opponent's Balls Pocketed While Scratching Get Re-Spotted?

Replies & Comments

  1. Cuebilliardsforum on 4/8/2007 5:05:35 PM

    As you noted, scratching the cue ball is considered a standard foul. It simply results in your opponent taking the cue ball in hand from anywhere on the table. No object balls are ever spotted in 8 ball.

    The applicable WPA 8 ball rule sections are as follows:

    Section 3.9 of the rules of 8 ball tell us that a cue ball scratch is a "standard foul", where the penalty is that your opponent takes the cue ball in-hand from anywhere on the table:

    3.9 Standard Fouls (8 ball)

    If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)

    The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

    • 6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table
    • [...]

    Section 3.7 tells us that other than one specific situation involving the 8 ball, no other balls are ever spotted in eight ball pool:

    3.7 Spotting Balls (in 8 ball)

    If the eight ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break, it will be spotted or the balls will be re-racked. (See 3.3 Break Shot and 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

    So, per the rules of 8 ball pool, any illegally pocketed balls are to remain pocketed, and are scored in favor of the player controlling that specific group of balls, solids or stripes. Per the General Rules of Pocket Billiards, balls are re-spotted only if the rules of the specific game require it, and the rules of 8 ball do not require such re-spotting.

  2. CueCue on 4/8/2007 5:55:15 PM

    Thanks for your answer!

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Do Opponent's Balls Pocketed While Scratching Get Re-Spotted?

  • Title: Do Opponent's Balls Pocketed While Scratching Get Re-Spotted?
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/8/2007 4:44:08 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/30/2022 1:45:55 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)