log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Do Balls Have to Touch a Rail if You Hit the Object Ball?


Do Balls Have to Touch a Rail if You Hit the Object Ball?

When playing 8 ball, does the shooter foul if nether his target ball (which he does hit) or his cue ball strikes a rail?

I am a little confused on the rules of ball in hand.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Do Balls Have to Touch a Rail if You Hit the Object Ball?

Replies & Comments

  1. El Gato Maloranger on 2/17/2018 9:24:07 AM

    Yes.

    In most systems that I have played in, the rule is that after a strike a ball must touch a rail (or get pocketed). Otherwise it is ball in hand.

    It can also be another ball (other than the target object ball) that was hit by the target object ball or cue ball in the course of making the shot.

    Simply put, a ball (any ball) must touch the rail or go into a pocket, or it is a foul.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Do Balls Have to Touch a Rail if You Hit the Object Ball?

  • Title: Do Balls Have to Touch a Rail if You Hit the Object Ball?
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/24/2008 5:44:31 PM
  • Last Updated: 1/25/2017 1:34:41 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)