log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can Your Hand Touch the Cue Ball When Making a Shot?


Can Your Hand Touch the Cue Ball When Making a Shot?

Is it legal to have your hand on the cue ball or touching the cue ball at all when you are making a shot?

Can Your Hand Touch the Cue Ball When Making a Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. Frank ABbilliardsforum on 3/13/2019 3:48:42 AM

    The short answer is no, your hand can't touch the cue ball while making a shot.

    In virtually all major cue sport games following the general rules of pocket billiards, it is a foul to touch the cue ball with your hand, except when it is "in-hand" during ball placement.

    From the World Pool-Billiard Association Rules (emphasis ours):

    6.6 Touched Ball

    It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots.

    It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls.

    If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.17 Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can Your Hand Touch the Cue Ball When Making a Shot?

  • Title: Can Your Hand Touch the Cue Ball When Making a Shot?
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/1/2013 4:10:26 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/13/2019 3:41:58 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)