log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?


Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?

In 8 ball, what happens when you are shooting for your last object ball, and you call (and make) the shot, but after, the 8 ball rolls into a pocket?

In other words, if you are on your last shot, you call your ball properly, pocket it, and then by accident you sink the 8 ball; is it a legal win or is it a loss of game (opponent's win)?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. robyasmt2drake on 7/7/2007 4:19:22 AM

    It is not a win. It is a loss of game for the shooting player.

    If you're playing APA rules, it's an "early 8" scenario, and you lost the game. The 8 ball must be pocketed in it's own separate shot.

    Here are the World Pool-Billiard Association rules that apply:

    8 ball rule 3.6 tells us that:

    1. the game of 8 ball follows "standard call shot", and
    2. the 8 ball can only be called after the shot which pockets the last ball from a player's group.

    3.6 Shots Required to Be Called (8 Ball)

    On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot.

    The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table.

    [...]

    Rule 1.6 of the "General Rules" further supports this, and tells us that you can only ever call one ball per shot:

    1.6 Standard Call Shot

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot. [...]

    Since your shot was really on your last object ball you had to call that ball and it's intended pocket, meaning you couldn't have possibly called the 8 ball nor it's intended pocket.

    In 8 ball pool, rule 3.8 Losing the Rack tells us that pocketing the 8 ball in an uncalled pocket is an automatic loss of game:

    3.8 Losing the Rack (8 Ball)

    The shooter loses if he:

    • (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    • (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    • (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
    • (d) drives the eight ball off the table.

    [...]

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?

  • Title: Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?
  • Author: (Roby Tannenbaum)
  • Published: 7/5/2007 9:36:49 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/30/2022 4:19:24 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)