log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can 8 Ball Be Used In Combo Shots?


Can 8 Ball Be Used In Combo Shots?

I'm wondering whether in the game of 8 ball billiards, I can legally perform a certain shot.

Say we're near the beginning of the game, each with plenty of our own group's object balls still on the table. It is my shot, and in order to make a certain one of my object balls, I need to do a combo that includes the 8 ball. Is this allowed?

Also, similar situation, but I shoot the cue ball at my own object ball, it gets legally pocketed, and then the cue ball rebounds and bumps the 8 ball. This is okay right?

The guy I play pool with has me second guessing every little rule now, each of which I though I had a pretty good handle on.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Can 8 Ball Be Used In Combo Shots?

Replies & Comments

  1. denverjana on 7/24/2007 6:10:37 AM

    According to APA 8 Ball rules, the 8 ball is not considered neutral, and thus, can not be treated that way in play.

    As far as combination shots are concerned, you would have to contact one of your object ball first, then have the cue ball deflect properly to hit the 8 ball, which could then legally pocket one of your object balls.

    As for your second question, you would be totally fine if this scenario occurs, and no fouls or loss of game would be assessed.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can 8 Ball Be Used In Combo Shots?

  • Title: Can 8 Ball Be Used In Combo Shots?
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/23/2007 11:21:37 PM