log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Calling the 8 Ball as Second Part of a Combination Shot

Calling the 8 Ball as Second Part of a Combination Shot

I have a question regarding calling combination shots which include your last object ball and the 8-ball.

Is it a given that when a combination shot is called with the 8-ball as part of the combination, that the eight ball will go in too?

I always thought both had to be called to win. Am I right or wrong?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Calling the 8 Ball as Second Part of a Combination Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. Ann M. Schroederranger on 2/17/2018 9:19:53 AM

    Interested. I joined this forum to ask a similar question.

    If you CALL a shot to pocket your last ball, and then the 8 ball, is it legal and a win?

  2. Ann M. Schroederbilliardsforum on 2/17/2018 1:28:12 PM

    I am not 100% sure on this, but according the following two sections from the World Pool-Billiard Association pool rules, you can't possibly call the 8 ball as the 2nd ball going into a pocket on a combination shot. Evidence for this is presented below.

    This excerpt from section 1.6 from the WPBA General Rules of Pocket Billiards is relevant, where the bold part states:

    1.6 Standard Call Shot

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.


    Furthermore the section from the WPBA 8-Ball Rules in bold below states:

    3.6 Shots Required to Be Called

    On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot.

    The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table.


    The section in bold would seem to imply that calling the 8 ball into a pocket while the last object ball was still on the table is not legal.

    Thoughts? Again, I am not 100% sure on this one either. But I am 99.9% sure. :)

  3. Ann M. Schroederranger on 2/17/2018 1:35:42 PM

    Sounds solid to me. I received a similar answer from an experienced shooter after I posted here.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Calling the 8 Ball as Second Part of a Combination Shot

  • Title: Calling the 8 Ball as Second Part of a Combination Shot
  • Author: (Ann Schroder)
  • Published: 2/27/2010 7:59:31 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/13/2017 2:01:28 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)