log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball


Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball

To me, a rail shot is usually a cross-table shot. Reading through various bar rules, I keep seeing this:

Every detail of every shot must be called. A common rule in many bars is that every kiss, carom and rail contact must be called for a shot to not end a turn.

Unless it's a straight in shot, I usually use a rail along my shot (not cross-table shot) which ends up bouncing the ball between the rails in the pocket area (aiming for the back of the pocket).

  • Are all these rails supposed to be called?
  • Is the first rail supposed to be called?
  • Is that even considered a rail shot?

I understand that going over the rules before playing a new player is good practice, but I've always considered that to be part of a normal shot.

And taking it a step further, using the image below would you need to call one, both, or even any rail?

rail.jpg

Questions about Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball:

Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. dan98svtbilliardsforum on 9/11/2019 3:34:51 PM

    I am going to answer you question in the context of the World-Pool-Billiard-Association 8-ball rules. They are the standard upon which most league rules are based.

    The short answer is NO, there is zero requirement in WPBA Eight Ball rules that require ANY rail contacts to be called.

    Here's the proof from the rules. The logic starts with this 8-ball rule:

    3.6 Shots Required to Be Called

    On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table. The shooter may call “safety” in which case play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot and any object ball pocketed on the safety remains pocketed. (See 8.17 Safety Shot.)

    This basically says that 8 ball follows the "standard call shot" rule from the "general rules of pocket billiards", which reads as follows (emphasis ours):

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.

    For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.

    In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game.

    Of course, this is only what the WPBA rules state.

    Pool leagues, local tournaments, and other players my have a different set of rules.

    A quick holler of "...are we playin' WPBA rules?" should suffice to clarify.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball

  • Title: Calling Rails in Call Shot 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/5/2019 6:38:51 PM
  • Last Updated: 9/11/2019 3:24:04 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)