log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Calling a "kiss" off an Opponent's Ball and Into a Pocket


Calling a "kiss" off an Opponent's Ball and Into a Pocket

Is it a ball-in-hand foul if I call my object ball in a pocket and it goes into the pocket that I call but, my object ball "kisses" off of my opponent's ball?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Calling a "kiss" off an Opponent's Ball and Into a Pocket

Replies & Comments

  1. jaycee13ranger on 2/17/2018 9:16:26 AM

    In most rule systems this is a legal scenario. In older more strict rules it would not be a "foul" but would not count for your turn to continue (just the same as if you accidentally made one of your balls you didn’t aim for).

    In APA 8 ball rules, if the right ball goes in the right pocket, what happens along the way doesn’t negate it. I would defer to experts though.

    Oh one other thought, in all systems I know of, if you CALL it that way, and strike your object ball first, it is totally legal as far as I know. Look up "carom" shots in your systems rules.

  2. jaycee13jfitch on 3/20/2018 8:34:28 PM

    Only in "bar rules" do you have to call a shot in detail. Any league with call shot will only require you to call the ball and pocket.

    And even if you didn't make the called shot, it would not be a foul to pocket something you didn't call. Your turn would simply end.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Calling a "kiss" off an Opponent's Ball and Into a Pocket

  • Title: Calling a "kiss" off an Opponent's Ball and Into a Pocket
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/25/2017 7:23:07 AM
  • Last Updated: 6/25/2017 5:46:51 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)