log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Ball In Hand Rules Clarification


Ball In Hand Rules Clarification

Someone commented on the definition of "ball in hand" in the billiard glossary.

The argument says that ball in hand does, and has always officially meant that the player takes the ball in hand only from anywhere behind the head string, and NOT from anywhere on the table.

Is this just a variation between different game rules, or does the definition need updating:

Being able to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for your next shot.

If anyone has some sources I can look at that would confirm either way (or that would confirm that the rules differ between various games) let me know.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Ball In Hand Rules Clarification

Replies & Comments

  1. billiardsforumquickshot on 10/30/2009 6:56:06 AM

    APA rules state that the only time BIH has to be placed behind the head spot is when a players scratches or the CB leaves the table on the break. Other than these two instances BIH is placed any where on the table. APA has 10 rules that cover BIH.

    As for BCA and WSR (World Standard Rules) they may be different. I'm sure we will hear from a couple of other nations on the subject.

    One of the biggest problems confronting a FORUM BOARD is the lack of information supplied by the person who questions the rules. Considering the many games played on a table, and the location of said tables, i.e. country and local, the rules can and do have variables.

  2. billiardsforumMitch Alsup on 10/30/2009 7:33:51 AM

    Most of the sets of rules specify Ball-In-Kitchen for a scratch, foul, or off table event with the CB on a break. APA, BCA, WPBA (at least). This was done to make the requirement of the open break (4-ball touch rails) not overly punish hitting the rack hard and scratching.

    The use of the term BIH implies anywhere on the table.

  3. billiardsforumFenwick on 10/30/2009 5:59:02 PM

    Ball in hand rules vary. The three leagues I play in are ball in hand after any foul 8 ball and 9 ball. The three 9 ball tournaments I play in weekly also are played ball in hand on any cue ball foul or failing to hit the correct ball clean. The APA is played as quickshot describes as well as W.P.B.A. Here's a link. http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_8ball I 'll add the BCA rules link. http://www.billiards.com/article/official-bca-8-ball-rules

  4. billiardsforumgibson on 11/9/2009 2:46:22 PM

    Ball in hand for any foul including scratches is the new BCA rule for 8 ball and 9 ball. That means full table ball in hand. Ball in hand used to mean anywhere behind the head string (kitchen). In-the-kitchen is still used in straight pool, rotation and one pocket, bar rules 8 ball and APA 8 ball. The reason they changed it was because the original rules, allowed ball spotting when a shooter's object balls were all in the kitchen. Over time, ball spotting was eliminated, so that an oncoming shooter had to shoot from the kitchen out into the playing area and back into the kitchen at his balls. This gave a tremendous advantage to a player to commit intentional fouls so the shooter never had a good shot at his object balls. The BCA then went to the ball in hand rule, so that if you foul at any time, the new shooter had an even bigger advantage since he could set up a run-out position and in case of the last ball an automatic win. I have seen so many arguments over this one, that it isn't funny. Why not just go back to the old rule, and allow the oncoming shooter to spot the object ball which is closest to the head string. At least, then he will have to earn a win by making the spot shot and having to come back for the rest of the balls in the kitchen.

  5. billiardsforumFenwick on 11/9/2009 6:51:26 PM

    @gibson, Off subject.

    I like your thinking but you're beating a dead horse in my opinion. For those players who don't like ball in hand just play straight pool or 1 pocket. How it came about is not relevant but useful information none the less. It's here to stay sorry to say.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Ball In Hand Rules Clarification

  • Title: Ball In Hand Rules Clarification
  • Author: (Billiards Forum)
  • Published: 10/30/2009 6:13:04 AM