log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

An 8 Ball Rule or Not?


An 8 Ball Rule or Not?

Hi everyone, My friend and I was playing eight ball. Everything went fine through, until we got to the ending of the game. I had 1 ball left, and my friend didn't have any - he only had to shoot the 8-ball in the hole.

Now, his 8-ball was lying very close to the hole, where he was suppose to shoot it into, so I chose to shoot it away, since it was my turn, instead of shooting at my own ball.

Is this allowed? As far as I know, it's only an "unwritten rule", that you don't do that, but he says, that it's forbidden.

So, who is right, and who is wrong?

Best regards, Soeren G.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

An 8 Ball Rule or Not?

Replies & Comments

  1. SornGbilliardsforum on 12/11/2007 6:12:56 AM

    If you were playing 8 ball, this is an automatic loss for you. You can not pocket the 8 ball until all of your other balls have been pocketed. It was not a legal shot for you to make, because the 8 ball was not a legal object ball for you at that time. Am I missing something?

  2. SornGguest on 1/17/2008 6:46:30 PM

    It doesn't sound like he pocketed the 8, he just knocked it away from the pocket. In that case, I believe his opponent would get ball-in-hand.

  3. SornGFenwick on 1/17/2008 8:12:23 PM

    Not to contradict anyone because after reading all 102 pages for the third time in as many days I am less sure then when I started. I did learn a few to me rules but would never use in a friendly game situation like catching the Cue ball in any pool game. Break that habit.

    I would suggest getting the latest copy and take it with you to a event and kindly share with your friends. Or if you have the ink and paper print it. I agree with Guest on this one. "I believe his opponent would get ball-in-hand." as it was not a legal hit. @billiardsforum is also correct as "this is an automatic loss for you" as giving your opponent ball in hand would surly be a loss. That can be good play in 9 ball if you can't hit you intended ball and ball in hand would let your opponent sink a near pocket 9 ball ending the game. Here is the full version of the BCA rules.

    playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

  4. SornGtedmauro on 1/18/2008 2:53:37 PM

    There is a crazy game here in Southern Colorado called bar rules. I have also seen these rules in western Kansas and Wyoming. Going by the so called bar rules, there would be no foul and your opponent would shoot from where the cue ball lies. Twenty years ago this was the most common rules in the bars and taverns. They are bad rules however because of situations as described in this thread. The bar rules say that you should always try to pocket a ball and safeties are cheating. There is no ball in hand and all cue ball scratches are shot from the kitchen. It is illegal to hit a ball in the kitchen from the kitchen on a scratch unless the cue ball strikes a rail outside of the kitchen before contacting the object ball in the kitchen. I wrote a complete article about this on my site about a year ago. There are several links on that page which cover most of the different rules.

    http://www.pool-billiards-game.com/billiard-rules.html

    Hope this helps.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

An 8 Ball Rule or Not?

  • Title: An 8 Ball Rule or Not?
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/11/2007 6:06:41 AM