log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

American 8 Ball Rules - Double Kiss

American 8 Ball Rules - Double Kiss

My name is Capt Scott MacNeil, and I was playing my British Military friend in an American 8 Ball Billiard Game here in Basrah, Iraq.

My friend, British SSgt Coggy Coughlan, called a shot to go into the corner pocket. The cue ball double kissed the object ball into the correct corner. Basically, it didn't go in clean, nor how he meant it to go in.

Was it a legal shot in American 8 Ball rules?


Capt Scott MacNeil
Co-founder, Willy Mosconi international Basrah Cup

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

American 8 Ball Rules - Double Kiss

Replies & Comments

  1. scottmluke on 9/22/2006 12:49:04 AM

    Hi Scott,

    The shot was legal. There are two things that you should note here:

    • Although this isn't specified in the BCA Standard 8 Ball rules, they do state that anything not listed specifically in the 8 Ball rules should be played according to the general rules of pocket billiards.
    • In the general rules it states: "The player does not need to indicate details such as legal combinations, kisses, caroms or cushions. Any balls that are pocketed in addition to the called ball are counted in the shooter's favor."

    Hope this helps, and welcome to the billiard forums.

  2. scottmwdbass99 on 11/2/2006 10:58:22 AM

    Hi Scott just wanted to thank you all your fellow servicemen for your service in Iraq

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


American 8 Ball Rules - Double Kiss

  • Title: American 8 Ball Rules - Double Kiss
  • Author: (Scott MacNeil)
  • Published: 9/11/2006 7:30:43 AM
  • Last Updated: 11/16/2016 10:02:18 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)