log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

American 8-Ball - Is a Double Kiss Legal if Not Called?


American 8-Ball - Is a Double Kiss Legal if Not Called?

Is a double kiss shot legal if not called in detail?

My name is Capt Scott MacNeil, and I was playing my British Military friend in an American 8 Ball Billiard Game here in Basrah, Iraq. My friend, British SSgt Coggy Coughlan, called a shot to go into the corner pocket.

The cue ball double kissed the object ball into the correct corner pocket. Basically, it didn't go in clean, nor how he meant it to go in.

Was it a legal shot in American 8 Ball rules?

This question references the following Billiard Glossary terms:

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

American 8-Ball - Is a Double Kiss Legal if Not Called?

Replies & Comments

  1. scottmluke on 9/22/2006 12:49:04 AM

    The shot was legal. There are two things that you should note here:

    • Although this isn't specified in the BCA Standard 8 Ball rules, they do state that anything not listed specifically in the 8 Ball rules should be played according to the general rules of pocket billiards.
      • In the general rules it states: "The player does not need to indicate details such as legal combinations, kisses, caroms or cushions. Any balls that are pocketed in addition to the called ball are counted in the shooter's favor."

    See the answer on the question What Detail is Required for Called Shots? for specific sections of the rules which apply.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

American 8-Ball - Is a Double Kiss Legal if Not Called?

  • Title: American 8-Ball - Is a Double Kiss Legal if Not Called?
  • Author: (Scott MacNeil)
  • Published: 9/11/2006 7:30:43 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/14/2022 8:50:18 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)