log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Accidentally Moving a Ball


Accidentally Moving a Ball

I had a discussion today with a couple of players, and the subject was accidentally moving one of your balls or one of your opponents while setting up to shoot, or for the matter, after the shot. Are there any hard and fast rules that apply to the subject?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Accidentally Moving a Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. quickshotbilliardsforum on 4/4/2008 10:16:04 PM

    Hello quickshot thanks for the question. I'm really excited because this is the first billiard forum post that I'm answering my talking into a microphone. I recently set up Dragon Naturally Speaking speech recognition software types as I talk and its really cool. It is going to make writing new articles for the site a breeze.

    Anyway, back to your question about the accidental movement of object balls. I'm not sure what rules you're playing by but after reading the 2007-2008 BCA general rules of pocket billiards, I'm a little surprised at the detail offered this year for this exact situation. Actually there are about 500 more words about accidental cue ball or object ball movement.

    1.33 - Cue Ball Fouls Only - indicates that merely disturbing a cue ball or an object ball accidentally does not constitute a foul In and of itself. The disturbance comes a foul only when it has an effect on the outcome of the shot about to be executed.

    They defined what effects the outcome of the shot as an instance when the disturbed ball makes contact with any ball set in motion as a result of the shot or that the base of any other ball passes through the area originally occupied by the disturbed ball. That area is defined as a circle which is approximately 7 inches in diameter centered on the position originally occupied by the disturbed ball.

    With that said, if you move more than one ball or the accidentally moved ball contacts any other ball you shall be assessed a foul. I hope this helps, and if you want to read the full rule, go to the link below. the BCA is the full rule set and you'll find this section under the general rules of pocket billiards.

    playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

    Copy that link in your browser and let it load.

  2. quickshotquickshot on 4/4/2008 10:42:55 PM

    Thanks for the reply. It does clear up the question. Now if I can only explain it to my two friends. I will take a look at the BCA. Good luck with the new toy. I could have used something like that back when I was writing articles for a now defunct magazine.

  3. quickshotbilliardsforum on 4/4/2008 10:52:28 PM

    Yeah, it sure speeds things up. On that note, if you are ever interested in doing any volunteer writing for the site, such as billiard drills, pool playing tips, or just any content you think would help those learning the sport, we'd love to have you...

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Accidentally Moving a Ball

  • Title: Accidentally Moving a Ball
  • Author: (Jim Walsh)
  • Published: 4/4/2008 9:40:12 PM