log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Accidental cue ball contact


Accidental cue ball contact

I was playing a game of 8-ball the other day, and I was setting up for my shot and I accidentally touched the cue ball. The cue ball only moved about one millimeter, but my opponent said it was a foul. I have heard that if you make accidental contact with the cue ball and it travels less than 1 inch, you are allowed to move it back to its original position. If somebody that knows the rule that applies here, let me know. Hopefully I am wrong and I didn't loose the game due to this. Thanks

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Accidental cue ball contact

Replies & Comments

  1. poolnastyFenwick on 1/24/2008 7:35:24 AM

    Causing movement of the cue ball, even accidentally, is a foul. It is not a foul to accidentally move any other balls (including the 8-ball) unless, while shooting, a player moves a ball and in turn strikes the cue ball. Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball is a foul. Any balls moved accidentally during a shot will be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all the balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot, it will be replaced before the shot is taken.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Accidental cue ball contact

  • Title: Accidental cue ball contact
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/24/2008 1:22:28 AM