log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8-Ball Rules Win Game if Pocket 1-Ball on Break


8-Ball Rules Win Game if Pocket 1-Ball on Break

Has anyone ever played eight-ball where you win if you sink the 1-ball on the break shot?

For years I would often stop after work to play a couple of games of pool, and if you pocketed the one ball on the break you won the game (a.k.a. winning by "pocketing the ace on the break")

I recently played a game of eight-ball in northern California with a local tree climber doing some work for us. He sunk the one-ball on the break and announced he won the game. I expected that!

A week later, a retired police officer friend and I played on my not frequently used pool table. I sunk the one-ball on the break and announced my win. He protested and of course I let it go.

Now, I find nothing on the internet about sinking the "Ace" on the break to win the game.

Do you know anything about whether sinking the one ball on the break wins the game?

I know the rule from playing 8-ball in and around the Vallejo, California area for years! Obviously, I'm not a serious pool player, but I enjoy it when I get the chance to play.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8-Ball Rules Win Game if Pocket 1-Ball on Break

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8-Ball Rules Win Game if Pocket 1-Ball on Break

  • Title: 8-Ball Rules Win Game if Pocket 1-Ball on Break
  • Author:
  • Published: 8/11/2010 9:49:27 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/4/2019 9:36:31 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)