log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Rules Pocket Opponent's Ball First


8 Ball Rules Pocket Opponent's Ball First

What happens in 8 ball rules when you pocket your opponent's ball before pocketing your own ball in a single shot?

Is it a foul and/or loss of turn if a player pockets his object ball however pockets one of their opponents balls on the same turn prior to to their ball dropping?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Rules Pocket Opponent's Ball First

Replies & Comments

  1. irishladyquickshot on 6/1/2008 10:19:37 PM

    If you hit your OB and it hits one of your opponents balls and the opponent's ball drops in first and your ball second it is not a foul. It is a legal shot. Unless you scratch your ball. As long as you hit your designated ball first. This can depend on the rules of the house: are you playing APA rules, BCA rules or a house rule. Under BCA you have to call your pocket. If you do a combo such as the CB to opponents OB and then your OB into the pocket it may not stand up in the BCA, but it would in the APA. Bottom line.....determine the rules of play before you start. Of course, I've been wrong before. I'm sure others will weigh in on this.

  2. irishladybilliardsforum on 6/1/2008 10:25:55 PM

    Yep, quickshot nailed the secret sauce, which is hitting your own ball first in the sequence of events following the execution of the shot. It is legal, but you'll really want to work on not allowing this to happen, since, after all, it benefits your opponent slightly.

    By the way, quckshot, did you get an email notification of this reply?

  3. irishladyquickshot on 6/1/2008 10:30:48 PM

    Yes I did. Thank you.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Rules Pocket Opponent's Ball First

  • Title: 8 Ball Rules Pocket Opponent's Ball First
  • Author: (Robin Arpey)
  • Published: 6/1/2008 9:58:04 PM