log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball last shot question


8 Ball last shot question

I was hoping you could help settle a bet between my girlfriend and me. We were playing 8 Ball the other night. The ground rules laid out ahead of time were that we did not have to call any shots, except for the last shot on the 8 Ball.

So, on her last shot, she had an obvious shot on the eight ball, without any banks, and she put it in. However, she did not call her shot.

My contention is that she loses if she does this. She contends that because her shot was so obvious she doesn't need to call it.

Who's right here? (I should mention that there is gelato at stake!)

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball last shot question

Replies & Comments

  1. guestMitch Alsup on 7/13/2012 1:20:27 PM
    1. If you want her to REMAIN your GF, you should allow her to 'take' this one.
    2. You can win on a technicality, and lose more than the game.
    3. You SHOULD have reminded her about the rules before she shot the 8.
  2. guestFenwick on 7/14/2012 9:05:04 AM

    Married 38 years and Mitch gave you some sound advice.

    Happy wife, happy life. Change to girlfriend.

  3. guestbilliardsforum on 7/16/2012 6:30:33 AM

    I second what @mitch and @fenwick said. There is more at steak than just the gelato! She is your girlfriend, and she is probably smart enough to know the rules of eight ball pertaining to the situation you mentioned.

    My guess is that she was deliberately setting up that situation to test you and to see how you would respond. Relationships are put through thousands of those little test situations, during which, the girlfriend is figuring out whether or not she wants to stay with you for ever, or move on :)

    A friendly reminder before the shot was made would have been the best solution to keep you both happy. Something like: "so what pocket are you trying for?"

    Cue sports began as a gentleman's game, and a gentleman would have reminded her before the shot without making her feel stupid.

  4. guestgibson on 8/14/2012 5:26:21 PM

    I play a lot of straight pool which requires you to call the pocket on every shot except for safeties. We normally dispense with the verbal designation on obvious shots. I think your GF's shot would fall under this category and you need to give her a pass on this. They took Joe Paterno's wins away, so you should give her this one.

  5. guestZeke on 8/16/2012 7:19:38 AM

    Given the original question was about the rules, not the interpersonal relationship dynamics between the two competitors, I would ask how well the rules were defined between the two players, without the nuances of their romantic entanglements being a factor?

    I suggest that if "Standardized Rules," "BCA" or "APA" rules were in place, different answers to his question might apply.

    Then too, the level of the game and its rigid adherence to rules is usually a gray area - typically dependent on the amount wagered (be it money or something with value e.g. dinner out) - or, if no value is assigned, merely bragging rights...

    In addition to the written rules, which when silent allow for nuances to be deployed, we have commonly accepted practices that need not be discussed, simply accepted. For example, if the GF had the 8-ball 3" from the center-line of a pocket - and the CB 6" from that, in a straight line, "calling" that shot (assuming the opponents remaining balls pose no possible interference) I believe the rules suggest calling the shot before execution is unnecessary.

    Here's the quoted rule (from this website) that supports my notion of why the shot need not be called - even if "CALL SHOT" is adopted:

    "In Call Shot, players need not call obvious balls and pockets, however, it is the opponent's right to ask which ball and pocket are to be used in the shot if they are unsure of the shot. Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and appropriate care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket. When calling the anticipated shot, it is not necessary to indicate details such as the number of cushions, banks, kisses, caroms, etc that will be used in the shot."

  6. guestFenwick on 8/16/2012 1:44:34 PM

    "In Call Shot, players need not call obvious balls and pockets, however, it is the opponent's right to ask which ball and pocket are to be used in the shot if they are unsure of the shot. Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and appropriate care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket. When calling the anticipated shot, it is not necessary to indicate details such as the number of cushions, banks, kisses, caroms, etc that will be used in the shot."

    True. Keep in mind during league or tournament play it's not the player who asks the shooter. Either the team caption or the referee has to get involved. The player except when it's his or her turn has to stay in their chair. Same applies to frozen balls. There are exceptions of course. Not everything is Black and White in my world.

  7. guestZeke on 8/17/2012 8:01:32 AM

    Fen, did you read his question?

    It had nothing to do with league play, tournament play, captains, referees or frozen balls.

    He also states that BEFORE the game began, they discussed THEIR OWN rules, and agreed to have the 8-ball final shot illegal - if not called - regardless of how obvious the shot was.

    I believe this is called a "house rule." And as such, was enforceable!

    Bottom line: She owes him a Gelato!

    Whether or not she ever talks to him again, is another topic for another day (;-o)

  8. guestFenwick on 8/17/2012 9:48:50 AM

    Z.

    You ain't my daddy nor am I your step child. Don't talk to me like I was one or the other! How did you come up with his house rules? What rule book are you quoting from, APA? How did a guy and his girlfriend playing pool become a pi$$ing match. Oh that's right. You don't know how to play straight pool or maybe it was because you couldn't ask a clear question about 14/1? In for a penny, in for a pound! University of Science, Music and Culture, 67 - 70.

    Owner and Administrator, If I get banned for respond to this Z's badgering me so be it. I don't always play nice but I ain't going to roll over and take his B.S.

  9. guestZeke on 8/21/2012 6:25:36 AM

    Fen,

    No one's badgering you - just trying to help you understand the English language.

    Here's a direct quote from the opening post member #32 wrote, that I referred to (that you somehow missed):

    "The ground rules laid out ahead of time were that we did not have to call any shots, EXCEPT FOR THE LAST SHOT ON THE 8-BALL."

    She failed to call the 8-ball. Based on what they agreed to, she lost. Period.

    What don't you understand about that sentence? Are you suggesting there is no such thing as "house rules" when playing 8-ball?

    Why the personal attack Fen? Is anyone that disagrees with you now subject to assault? If you want to debate the rules, try and be civil. If you make it personal, we all lose out.

  10. guestMitch Alsup on 8/21/2012 1:08:38 PM

    The rule is enforceable. The girlfriend also has the option to quit being the girlfriend, so the original poster has more to loose than "just the game".

  11. guestZeke on 8/22/2012 5:46:59 AM

    Mitch, that was rather apparent from the start. But Member # 32 didn't come here to debate what might ruin his relationship with his GF. He asked about rules.

    Since Member # 32 doesn't state his age in his profile, we assumed he's closer to 20 than 50. We may be dead wrong. He asked a question about rules - not advice on his love life.

    I totally agree the advice both you and Fenwick gave was well founded. But it was always a rules question first. I chose to think he deserved a direct answer - since you guys already covered the GF/BF dynamic rather well.

    Since Member # 32 has not commented further, one could assume he didn't appreciate any answers and has moved on - or is sitting back reading our comments and simply enjoying Fenwick's self-immolation.

  12. guestMitch Alsup on 8/22/2012 9:11:27 AM

    There is no such thing as a question merely about rules. Sooner or later it comes down to enforecment of said rules, and the consequences thereof.

  13. guestZeke on 8/22/2012 5:17:23 PM

    Totally agree!

  14. guestFenwick on 8/23/2012 3:36:22 PM

    Since Member # 32 has not commented further, one could assume he didn't appreciate any answers and has moved on - or is sitting back reading our comments and simply enjoying Fenwick's self-immolation. Self-immolation refers to setting oneself on fire, on behalf of a collective cause.

    Na, but I would volunteer to be in harms way again for the betterment of a collective cause.

    Member 32 is a guest account. There are 100's of guest 32's; maybe more. You're assuming he hasn't been back and you're assuming he didn't like the answerer.

  15. guesttasha_silvester on 11/29/2012 4:01:17 AM

    According to BCA or APA rules, obvious balls and pockets need not to be indicated by player in Call Shot. It is opponent's right to ask about which ball and pocket if he is not sure of the shot.

  16. guestMitch Alsup on 11/29/2012 8:24:29 PM

    Note: The opponent must not disturb the player while asking for clarification on what the shot has been called (or implied). In general, this means that the opponent must ask before the player "goes down" on the shot.

  17. guestZeke on 11/30/2012 9:03:46 AM

    Tasha's penchant for stating the obvious - while avoiding the essence of a thread and in the process, missing the point completely - tends to confuse - rather than enlighten?

    Or am I the only one...?

  18. guestMitch Alsup on 11/30/2012 10:22:52 AM

    I would give her a break.

  19. guestFenwick on 11/30/2012 1:07:29 PM

    Nope! Not one point made IMO.

  20. guestallanpsand on 4/7/2013 9:13:33 AM

    You have to consider the consequences and benefits of any action on the table.

    For example, on a tough shot, you must consider the consequences of failure and success. That tells you whether you want to actually make the shot, however low percentage. But if you ignore the consequences of failure you give your opponent a chance for an easy win.

    Consequences also applies to your relationship with an opponent. Even with a friend, you have to consider how enforcing such a rule on an obvious affects future interaction. If you competition is fierce, then you want a stricter compliance. If casual, relax the necessary standards.

    The correct response to the situation should not have been to enter a conflict with your GF, but to ask if future games should follow the stricter or relaxed rule standards. ;-)

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball last shot question

  • Title: 8 Ball last shot question
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/12/2012 5:30:13 AM