log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Hits and Pockets Opponent's Last Ball, Then 8 Ball Into Pocket


8 Ball Hits and Pockets Opponent's Last Ball, Then 8 Ball Into Pocket

Here is the scenario:

I call my shot as the 8 ball into the corner pocket, which is protected by my opponent's last remaining ball sitting on the edge of that same pocket. I call the shot with the intention of following the opponents ball into the pocket and winning the game.

Under the BCA 8 ball rules, if I make the shot as called, do I win the game, and why?

Thanks,
Blaine Johnson

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Hits and Pockets Opponent's Last Ball, Then 8 Ball Into Pocket

Replies & Comments

  1. blaine johnsonbilliardsforum on 11/30/2019 4:26:22 PM

    I believe the BCA follows the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPBA) rules, and based on those, you win the game.

    The summary is that your shot was 100% legal for the following reasons:

    1. You called your shot as required by calling (a) the ball (the 8 ball) and (b) the target pocket.
    2. The cue ball contacted your ball first (the 8 ball), and continued on to either (a) pocket a ball or (b) drive a ball to a rail.

    No other details are necessary when you call your shot.

    There aren't specific rules I can point you to. It's more that there isn't a rule about a foul for this scenario. It is the absence of such a rule that makes this shot legal.

    However, we can look to the call-shot rules to help justify it (emphasis mine):

    From the general rules of pocket billiards:

    1.6 Standard Call Shot

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.

    For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.

    In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game.

    ...then, from 8 ball rules (just confirming that the general rules section is relevant for 8-ball:

    3.6 Shots Required to Be Called

    On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table.

    Hope this helps.

  2. blaine johnsonblaine johnson on 11/30/2019 4:32:32 PM

    Thanks for the response.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Hits and Pockets Opponent's Last Ball, Then 8 Ball Into Pocket

  • Title: 8 Ball Hits and Pockets Opponent's Last Ball, Then 8 Ball Into Pocket
  • Author: (Blaine Johnson)
  • Published: 11/30/2019 11:02:03 AM
  • Last Updated: 11/30/2019 4:05:02 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)