log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is a Miscue a Foul in 3-Cushion?


Is a Miscue a Foul in 3-Cushion?

In 3-cushion billiards, is a miscue a foul or not?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is a Miscue a Foul in 3-Cushion?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1624205531RayMills on 6/20/2021 9:38:20 AM

    Your question was posted under 3-Cushion Billiards, which is a game I've never played. But I'm answering you so that you get a quick acknowledgement and in case my games have the same standard about miscues.

    "Miscue", by definition, means "by accident". If a shooter tries to get away with some trick method by disguising a shot as an accident (for example, finding a way to make the cue ball go sideways off the side of the cue), it is a serious foul and has more consequences than a standard foul. Beyond that, a miscue causes a foul only if the shot fails to achieve the standards of a legal shot, such as having the cue ball hit a legal ball, then driving any ball to a cushion (or pocket, which wouldn't happen in 3-Cushion). Again, I don't know which of the balls in 3-cushion make-up a legal shot.

    The miscue isn't a foul in itself, but usually causes one. It is a foul to make a jump shot by purposely miscuing off the bottom of the cue ball, but I assume jump shots aren't used in 3-Cushion.


    UPDATE: From USBA:

    1. Miscues are not a foul unless the player's ferrule or shaft touches the cue ball during the execution of the stroke. If a billiard is scored because of a miscued stroke, it shall be counted and turn continues (unless the miscue was a foul).

    So, the shooter would have to totally miss the cue ball with his cue's tip, or the ball somehow bounced back to the side of the cue. I would say that totally missing the cue tip would, technically, not be a miscue!

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is a Miscue a Foul in 3-Cushion?

  • Title: Is a Miscue a Foul in 3-Cushion?
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/20/2021 9:12:12 AM
  • Last Updated: 6/24/2021 4:13:33 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)