log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

3 Foul Penalty in 14-1 Continuous Pool

3 Foul Penalty in 14-1 Continuous Pool

I have a question about the 3-foul penalty in 14.1 continuous pool.

Here is the scenario:

  • Player A has fouled for the 2nd time.
  • Player B tells him he is on his second foul, and approaches the table.
  • Player B shoots and pockets a ball legally, then plays a safety.
  • Player A approaches the table and commits a 3rd foul

Would that be a 15 pt penalty for player A?

He fouled 3 of his consecutive innings, but does me legally pocketing a ball between his 2nd and 3rd foul forfeit the penalty for that player?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

3 Foul Penalty in 14-1 Continuous Pool

Replies & Comments

  1. user1671898080billiardsforum on 2/13/2023 6:45:29 PM

    In most cue sport games, including 14.1 continuous straight pool, having "successive foul" rules, it applies to that player only.

    Actions of the opponent have no bearing on another player's successive foul tally.

    The excerpts from the World Pool-Billiard Association rules of 14.1 Continuous Straight Pool which apply are as follows:

    1. Rule 4.11 "Serious Fouls" indicate that the "Three Consecutive Fouls" rule applies to 14.1, along with some other detail:

      4.11 Serious Fouls

      For Rule 6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls, only standard fouls are counted, so a breaking foul does not count as one of the three fouls. A point is subtracted for the third foul as usual, and then the additional fifteen-point penalty is subtracted and the offending player’s consecutive foul count is reset to zero. All fifteen balls are re-racked and the offending player is required to shoot under the requirements of the opening break.

    2. Rule 6.14 further defines "Three Consecutive Fouls":

      6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls

      If a player fouls three times without making an intervening legal shot, it is a serious foul. In games scored by the rack, such as nine ball, the fouls must be in a single rack. Some games such as eight ball do not include this rule.

      The referee must warn a shooter who is on two fouls when he comes to the table that he is on two fouls. Otherwise a possible third foul will be considered to be only the second.

    In 6.14, the wording "a player", though possibly confusing, indicates the the foul count (and potentially intervening legal shots) apply within the context of that single player, and not the players as whole.

    Thus, your legally pocketed shot doesn't intervene in your opponent's foul count.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


3 Foul Penalty in 14-1 Continuous Pool

  • Title: 3 Foul Penalty in 14-1 Continuous Pool
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/24/2022 8:08:01 AM
  • Last Updated: 2/13/2023 6:33:43 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)