log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Allowed to Pocket 10-Ball with a Combination Shot?


Allowed to Pocket 10-Ball with a Combination Shot?

In ten ball pool, can you pocket the 10-ball with a combination shot?

I watched a 10 ball match earlier today and the commentator said that winning the game with a combination shot on the 10-ball isn't allowed.

Is this a specific house rule or is potting the 10-ball with a combo shot (once all previous balls have been potted of course) not allowed?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Allowed to Pocket 10-Ball with a Combination Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1539184344billiardsforum on 10/10/2018 3:57:08 PM

    Interesting. I assume you are specifically asking about the rules of ten-ball pool so I moved your post from the eight-ball forum.

    What league were you watching on TV?

    I believe the rules of ten ball have changed circa 2015 to implement this rule you are speaking of. Apparently the WPA didn't widely announce the rule change and so it hasn't been adopted everywhere yet, but it is in the ten ball rule book.

    Ten Ball Rules, 9.8 - Continuing Play

    If the shooter legally pockets a called/nominated ball on a shot (except a push out, see 9.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out), any additional balls pocketed remain pocketed (except the ten ball; see 9.9 Spotting Balls), and he continues at the table for the next shot. If a player nominates and legally pockets the ten ball prior to the ten ball being the last remaining ball, the ten ball is re-spotted and the shooter continues, while pocketing the ten ball as a final ball at the table, he wins the rack. If the shooter fails to pocket the called ball or fouls, play passes to the other player, and if no foul was committed, the incoming player must play the cue ball from the position left by the other player.

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play/#Ten-Ball

    The 10-ball can't be the "final ball at the table" if you are pocketing it via a combination shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Allowed to Pocket 10-Ball with a Combination Shot?

  • Title: Allowed to Pocket 10-Ball with a Combination Shot?
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/10/2018 8:12:25 AM
  • Last Updated: 10/10/2018 3:35:48 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)