log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Ruling on Re-spotting Brown After Cue Ball Scratch


Ruling on Re-spotting Brown After Cue Ball Scratch

I was in a recent match where I experienced something for the first time and no one knew what the ruling should be.

I had potted the yellow and green ball successfully, however, the brown ball was left hanging on the edge of the pocket and resting gently against the cushion corner. When my opponent set up for the shot, he struck the cue ball and at that moment, the brown ball dropped into the pocket. This, in turn, caused him to draw a foul by potting the cue ball in the same corner pocket.

Some debate ensued and no one could determine the proper course of action. What should happen here?

  • Does that brown ball get re-placed on it's respective spot?
  • Does it get re-placed on a higher spot?
  • Would my opponent be subject to a foul?

If anyone has been through this before, it would be nice to know how to deal with it and I could pass it along to the rest of the group. I suspect though that I may never see such an instance again - but I guess stranger things have happened.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Ruling on Re-spotting Brown After Cue Ball Scratch

Replies & Comments

  1. sduffneyMitch Alsup on 11/13/2010 3:37:29 PM

    If the brown ball had be sitting on the shelf for more than 5 seconds, it should get respotted at the place it was resting (on the shelf) to the best of your ability to do so. If the brown ball was resting for less then 5 seconds, then you inninig should have continued.

    Since the opponents shot had his CB drop in a pocket, it is a scratch (foul) and you get BIH/BIK depending on the rules in play.

    Since the brown ball dropped after your opponent struck the CB with the cue tip, the brown ball is spotted before the next shot (with BIH/BIK).

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Ruling on Re-spotting Brown After Cue Ball Scratch

  • Title: Ruling on Re-spotting Brown After Cue Ball Scratch
  • Author: (Scott Duffney)
  • Published: 11/8/2010 9:17:59 PM