log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Free Ball After Foul on the Last Red Ball?

Free Ball After Foul on the Last Red Ball?

If a foul shot happens with one red ball remaining on the snooker table, and the cue ball is touching the red ball, is it considered to be a free ball or can you see both sides of the red ball?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Free Ball After Foul on the Last Red Ball?

Replies & Comments

  1. billyjana on 1/4/2007 11:56:07 AM

    In this case, the referee would not be inclined to award a free ball. Snooker rules state clearly that for a free ball to be awarded, the player needs to be snookered after the foul stroke happens.

    In the example that you have provided, you don't seem to be snookered at all in fact. Actually, you are no worse off than if the cue ball were to come to a stop and rest in a position where it is jawed to the pocket. The shooting player can not be snookered by the cushion or by the ball that is "on" and thus, "no free ball for you."

    You would however have the option of playing yourself of of having your opponent put back in.

  2. billykyle on 1/5/2007 8:00:45 PM

    At first, I thought it would be a free ball situation because you can't hit both sides of the red. But that's wrong.

    It's not a free ball, since there's nothing obstructing you from hitting either side of the ball.

  3. billyWaleed Amir on 12/22/2019 1:16:16 PM

    Is a player is allowed to play a free ball if he required 2-3 snookers on the last red?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Free Ball After Foul on the Last Red Ball?

  • Title: Free Ball After Foul on the Last Red Ball?
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/4/2007 11:50:06 AM