log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Sinking the Cue Ball on the Break


Sinking the Cue Ball on the Break

I am new to the game of pool and have a question concerning sinking the cue ball on the break shot...

Is sinking the cue ball on the break shot an automatic loss of game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Sinking the Cue Ball on the Break

Replies & Comments

  1. mlewisjags on 9/4/2007 2:59:48 PM

    I don't know of any games where scratching on the break is a loss of game except if you also make the 8 ball if playing 8 ball. Usually on a foul like this your opponent has to shoot from behind the head string since it occured on the break while anytime after that they would get ball in hand anywhere on the table.

  2. mlewisernier on 10/11/2007 5:32:10 PM

    I was playing an online 8-ball game the other day where a scratch on the break counted as a loss. As the previous poster said, I have never seen it be a loss on a bar table. It's a good thing because I do it all the time.

  3. mlewisPhillip on 3/18/2008 7:20:50 PM

    At the start of the game, if one scratches on the break shot, can they shoot again?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Sinking the Cue Ball on the Break

  • Title: Sinking the Cue Ball on the Break
  • Author: (Mike Lewis)
  • Published: 9/3/2007 10:49:10 PM