log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Rules for Safeties on a Frozen Ball

Rules for Safeties on a Frozen Ball

What is the rule on using the same rail to safety off a ball frozen to rail?

I thought that the rule was that you could hit the ball first and safety off the rail once and then if the object ball does not move at least a ball width away from the rail, you could no longer safety off the same ball and rail.

This was argued on another forum.

I looked at the BCA rules and this was not covered in general play or 14.1 continuous play.

I guess the argument is whether you can use the same rail more than once or you have to make one of the balls hit another rail.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Rules for Safeties on a Frozen Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. gibsonZeke on 11/28/2013 5:48:11 PM

    I never saw a rule saying the rail the OB is frozen to - can't also be the rail either the OB or CB "touches" - to be a legal shot.

    Where did you hear or read that thing about the one ball diameter "space" between an OB and the rail?

  2. gibsongibson on 12/2/2013 8:22:50 PM

    I think I played the rule off someone's opinion at the time. That's why I asked, since somebody was playing it that way and I didn't know the rule. I thought there was a rule that you could not keep hitting safeties off the same rail continuously without the cue ball or another ball hitting a different rail. I agree about the same rail not being covered by official rules.

  3. gibsonZeke on 12/3/2013 7:30:35 PM

    This site, if you click on Billiard Rules in green atop this page - has every rule imaginable stated from reliable sources. House rules be damned ;) They exist, but are to be avoided AT ALL COSTS!

    I'm not as experienced as most of the guys here but have never seen the rule you were led to believe existed.

  4. gibsonZeke on 12/4/2013 7:16:10 AM

    Then too, a "safety" is rarely ONLY a defensive move.

    A good safety merely leaves the opponent no shot - while at the same time preventing the opponent from leaving you - no shot, e.g., you open the pack so no matter what the opponent does, he can't effectively block you out - while at the same time just once - he is stymied.

  5. gibsonFenwick on 12/5/2013 2:56:19 AM

    From the official rules of the BCA Pool League.


    Rule 1-20

  6. gibsonZeke on 6/16/2015 7:48:28 AM

    The rule is...

    We try not to respond to two year old posts because they are "dead."

    Meaning, they haven't been replied to in two years because the OP already got the answer requested.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Rules for Safeties on a Frozen Ball

  • Title: Rules for Safeties on a Frozen Ball
  • Author: (Mike Newberry, Sr.)
  • Published: 11/28/2013 9:02:32 AM