log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty if the Cue Ball Jumps and Stops on Top of the Rail


Penalty if the Cue Ball Jumps and Stops on Top of the Rail

What is the penalty if the cue ball jumps up and lands on top of the rail and stays there?

For example, if during a break shot, the cue ball jumps up onto the top of the rail and lands and stops up on the rail, what is the penalty for that? Is it considered a "ball-in-hand" foul?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty if the Cue Ball Jumps and Stops on Top of the Rail

Replies & Comments

  1. donaldchewquickshot on 11/3/2009 7:20:54 AM

    On the rail would be the same as on the floor. The ball has left the playing surface after the break and I believe it would be BIH behind the head spot for your opponent.

  2. donaldchewMitch Alsup on 11/3/2009 11:20:34 AM

    Ball in hand behind the head string is also known as ball-in-kitchen or BIK.

    In order not to be a foul, the ball must come to rest on the playing surface. The ball is allowed to jump up onto the rail as long as it comes to rest on the playing surface.

  3. donaldchewFenwick on 11/3/2009 9:40:19 PM

    Depending on whose rules you're playing by! BCA, WBA, APA, Bar or basement house rules.

  4. donaldchewquickshot on 11/4/2009 8:15:48 AM

    Donald: please clarify what you mean by " above the rail". Does it mean that the CB ball came to rest on top of one of the rails? That is something I have never seen. Although, I have seen a CB roll along the top of the rail and then on to the floor or back onto the table. If it falls back onto the table it is not considered a foul and you continue shooting. If in fact it stays on top of the rail or falls to the floor I stand with my original ans.

  5. donaldchewdonaldchew on 11/4/2009 8:24:57 AM

    Indeed the CB is above the rail as the fabric is slightly crumpled. But isn't the rail part of the table?

  6. donaldchewquickshot on 11/4/2009 8:47:45 AM

    When you say "above the rail" do you mean on top of the rail or due to a crumpled felt on the table the ball is sitting higher than the rail line. If the ball is still on the table but raised up because of a felt condition it is still playable by the breaking player without a foul being called.

  7. donaldchewdonaldchew on 11/4/2009 9:08:07 AM

    CB is sitting on top of the rail not on the playing surface. But my concern is that even if its above the rail, it is still part of the table.

  8. donaldchewquickshot on 11/4/2009 9:39:11 AM

    It is not part of the playing surface. The rail is to keep the balls from falling off the table and providing pockets. They also provide the means for special shots. The key words here are "playing surface". And the top of the rail does not come under that title.

  9. donaldchewFenwick on 11/4/2009 10:23:50 AM

    What's refreshing is someone posts a question and comes back and gets into a interactive conversation about his post.

    For what it's worth that's one heck of a shot to get the cue ball to come to rest on the rail. That being said it's not part of the playing surface. It would be like placing the cue ball on the rail and breaking from there. Or getting ball in hand and placing the cue ball on the rail to make your next shot. It just isn't done. The ball in hand question depends on where you are playing and under what sanctioning body.

    Last but not least, how often do you think this happens? I may have seen it once or twice at the most in all my years.

  10. donaldchewDonut Eric on 3/30/2011 4:09:04 PM

    @Donald - When the cue ball comes to a complete stop and it is still on the pool table, it is not a foul.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty if the Cue Ball Jumps and Stops on Top of the Rail

  • Title: Penalty if the Cue Ball Jumps and Stops on Top of the Rail
  • Author: (Donald Chew)
  • Published: 11/3/2009 2:33:19 AM