log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

If You Scractch on a Break Shot Do You Lose?


If You Scractch on a Break Shot Do You Lose?

In billiards and pool, if you scratch on a break do you lose the game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

If You Scractch on a Break Shot Do You Lose?

Replies & Comments

  1. guestMitch Alsup on 7/22/2010 10:16:48 AM

    Billiards: don't know--but the balls are not to leave the bed of the table and there are no pockets.

    Pool: No, and the rules are explicit on this. Some rules give Ball in Kitchen (behind the string) on a foul on an open break, some ball in hand. However, BIK this has just been (July 1) changes to Ball in Hand under BCA tournaments.

  2. guestallanpsand on 4/18/2013 9:51:22 AM

    The only specialized rule where you can lose on the break shot is in a variation of 8 Ball rules.

    If the 8 Ball is pocketed on the break and the cue ball scratches (into a pocket or off the table) - the player loses that game.

    This basically follows the rule that a scratch on pocketing the 8 ball is a game loss.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

If You Scractch on a Break Shot Do You Lose?

  • Title: If You Scractch on a Break Shot Do You Lose?
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/21/2010 6:56:49 PM