log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Driving Balls to the Rail on a Break Shot


Driving Balls to the Rail on a Break Shot

Is it considered a foul if an object ball goes is pocketed, but not more than three balls are driven to the rails?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Driving Balls to the Rail on a Break Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. Gingerkyle on 4/24/2007 4:06:56 PM

    You don't need any rails if you made a ball.

  2. Gingeraleromike87 on 4/28/2007 8:14:38 PM

    wut does it mean to drive 4 balls to the rail on a legal break? does that mean that if 4 balls hit any rail off my break its still my turn? or does it mean the head rail? and if so is it still my turn or its just a legal break and its my oppenents turn?

  3. GingerRoss on 5/15/2007 6:36:48 AM

    It depends. In 8 ball, for example, the player must either pocket a ball, or drive at least four numbered balls to any rail.

    This means that if no balls are pocketed, AND 4 balls are not driven to the rails, then it is considered a foul. IF the player does not pocket any balls, but DOES drive 4 balls to any rail, no foul occurs, but player loses their turn since no balls were pocketed.

    When a foul occurs, the incoming player has the option of accepting the table in position and shooting, or having the balls re-racked and exercising the option of shooting the opening break or allowing the offending player to re-break.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Driving Balls to the Rail on a Break Shot

  • Title: Driving Balls to the Rail on a Break Shot
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/24/2007 12:23:14 PM