log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Nine Ball Pocketed Unintentionally


Nine Ball Pocketed Unintentionally

If the nine ball is pocketed unintentionally, it is re spotted.

However, does the person who pocketed it continue shooting or is it the other player's turn now?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Nine Ball Pocketed Unintentionally

Replies & Comments

  1. Jim GannFenwick on 2/5/2009 7:50:37 PM

    On a foul; no. The incoming player's inning starts.

    But, if you are shooting on any ball from the 1 ball to the 8 ball, and make a clean hit, and make the 9 ball in the course of that, then I believe it is a win.

  2. Jim GannJustanotherevolutionary on 2/6/2009 8:15:32 AM

    So long as you contact the object ball first, you can slop the 9 ball in and it is a win.

    • If you deliberately shoot the 9 ball before it's time has come, then it gets spotted and you lose your turn.
    • If you scratch while shooting the 9 ball when it is actually the correct ball for you to shoot for, it gets spotted and you lose turn.
    • If you slop the 9 ball into the pocket, or combo it in and scratch, it is again spotted and your opponent is at the table.

    My friends and I have recently decided to call the 9 ball. This way if it is slop, the 9 gets spotted but if you make your object ball you continue shooting. This is far more entertaining and challenging I think. Give it a try if you get tired of losing on a slopped 9 ball.

    I play by the APA 9-ball rules.

    Hopefully I explained this clearly enough, I think I might even have confused myself! If you play by APA check out poolplayers.com and they can explain it better probably.

  3. Jim Gannquickshot on 2/6/2009 8:30:28 AM

    If you pocket the 9 ball while in the process of shooting another object ball, as long as you hit the intended object ball first and then the 9 ball then it is game time. Regardless of whether the intended object ball or the cue ball sinks the 9 ball, you win.

    If the 9 ball was knocked in by another object ball it is game time as long as you hit the intended object ball first. This applies whether it is the CB or the object ball that hits the 9 ball. On the other hand, if you are shooting the 9 ball to end the game the pocket must be called.

  4. Jim GannFenwick on 11/4/2009 1:19:15 PM

    Here is a different way of looking at it.

    Under Texas Express rules, if the 9 ball is an easy shot, right in the jaws of the pocket and you can't hit the next ball you're on, then it is common to pocket the 9 ball and give up ball in hand.

    The 9 ball gets spotted but at least you don't give your opponent a duck shot or a sure win.

    Playing under Texas Express rules you don't even have to call your pocket.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Nine Ball Pocketed Unintentionally

  • Title: Nine Ball Pocketed Unintentionally
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/5/2009 6:05:45 PM