log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Intentionally Pocket 9 Ball to Have it Spotted


Intentionally Pocket 9 Ball to Have it Spotted

Is there any rule preventing a player from purposefully pocketing the 9 ball with the intentions of having it spotted to change the position?

Example: after the break the nine ball sits in front of a pocket. A player then chooses to pocket the 9 and gives the other player ball in hand.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Intentionally Pocket 9 Ball to Have it Spotted

Replies & Comments

  1. Adavid02Fenwick on 11/8/2009 4:02:36 PM

    There are no rules preventing purposely pocketing the 9 ball out of order, at least not under Texas Express 9 ball rules. I see it happen all the time.

  2. Adavid02Adavid02 on 11/8/2009 4:20:33 PM

    What about under other rules. I run a tournament and we play by bca rules except for 3 foul. I hate seeing people do that and would like to prevent it if possible.

  3. Adavid02Fenwick on 11/8/2009 5:19:40 PM

    What other rules?

    It's like players who think playing safes is dirty pool. It's part of today's game. The pros do it!

    But, for example, if the 9 ball is hanging in the jaws of the pocket and I can't hit my ball, I am not going to give up ball in hand and lose the game on the very next shot.

    Again Texas Express is the standard by which 9 ball is played today and the 3 foul rule is in effect where ever I play.

    I don't see any way to avoid it.

    If this is your bar league you'll have to either make up your own rules, "house rules ", or play full fledged Texas Express 9 ball rules. Most importantly, you all need to be on the same page.

  4. Adavid02Mitch Alsup on 11/8/2009 8:41:16 PM

    For the push-out shot only--it is perfectly legal to pot the 9-ball. This can move it away from a pocket and put it back on the head spot (as you indicated). I have also seen dead combinations of the 3-9 and 5-9 made to get rid of the dead combination.

    For other shots it is a foul, giving BIH to the opponent.

  5. Adavid02Adavid02 on 11/8/2009 9:01:38 PM

    Can you cite that?

  6. Adavid02dereke on 2/7/2010 9:49:56 PM

    It is best to take that nine down if its hanging in the pocket. Push shot or not, get it back to the foot spot, otherwise its your loss. There is no rule and you don't have to call a push if you don't want to.

  7. Adavid02Mitch Alsup on 2/9/2010 12:13:19 PM

    ESPN Classic, circa 2003: Jennette Lee vs. Alison Fischer: Jennette breaks and sinks the 5 ball and gets no shot on the 1 ball. If I remember correctly, the 3-9 combination was dead. She sinks the 9-ball as the pushout shot, leaves Alison with a very difficult but shoot-able shot. Commentators Mich and Ewa discuss how valuable the pushout shot is when the 9 ball is hanging on the pocket.

    In any event it happens all the time at the upper levels (where "all the time" means at least once per major tournament).

  8. Adavid02gibson on 3/13/2010 10:03:47 AM

    9 Ball Rules - Push Out (Regulation 5.6):

    The billiard player who shoots immediately after a legal break may play a push out in an attempt to move the cue ball into a more favorable position for the option that follows. On a push out, the cue ball is not required to contact any object ball nor any rail, but all other foul regulations still apply. The player must announce his or her intention of playing a push out before the shot, or the shot is considered to be a normal shot. Any pocketed ball on a push out does not count and remains pocketed except for the 9-ball. Following a legal push out, the incoming player is allowed to shoot from that particular position or to pass the shot back to the player who pushed out. A push out is not considered to be a foul as long as no rule, except for the "Bad Hit" regulation and the "No rail" regulation, is violated. An illegal push out is penalized according to the type of foul committed. After a player scratches on the break shot, the incoming player may not play a push out.

    The fact that the rule mentions the 9-ball on the push "except for the 9-ball" would lead me to believe that the intentional pocketing of the 9 ball is legitimate.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Intentionally Pocket 9 Ball to Have it Spotted

  • Title: Intentionally Pocket 9 Ball to Have it Spotted
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/8/2009 3:32:20 PM