I was watching a nine ball tournament recently and saw a player miss the intended object ball, thereby committing a BIH foul. But immediately after the foul, while the cue ball was still in motion, he stopped the ball before it was able to strike any other balls and pushed it over into empty space for his opponent to pick up. Now I suppose that since a foul was already committed that there isn't a provision for an additional foul, but it does seem like a player should be required to let the cue ball come to rest even after a foul. What is the rule on this...?
And... ONE more question about the push-out which I'd like clarified. I understand the ball must be struck, you can't declare a push-out without contacting the cue ball with your cue tip. But... is there a minimum distance that the cue ball must travel?
Rule one is 1 Suck at the pump. There's no catching in pool. I would stop the game talk to the T.D. or league operator. Next time disqualify. Lose of game, loose the match!
On the first one if given a warning only it would be a re-rack and your break in a ideal world.
Regarding your second question - No. You can nudge it a half inch or 3 rails. Some say if you hit the next ball in order and it's not a push out and that makes perfect sense. It's a safe not a push.
Check this out at the 2011 Masters 10-Ball... At 52 minutes in, Immonen fouls attempting a massé shot and stops the cue ball before it comes to rest. Not sure if it would have continued into the one ball or not, but it was heading that way.
You are paranoid Fenwick and I think it's your upper lip you are smelling. But I could tell from your first reply that you were not a friendly person. No where in the forum rules does it state that I cannot "link" to a YouTube video. I did not "post" a video. I have a legitimate billiard question that I'm asking on a billiard forum. Or at least that's what I thought this was. But I'll be glad to remove myself from membership. Why would I be fishing with a YouTube link anyway? Geez. Surely someone else has had the same question -it's a good question. I searched for an answer on this forum before I even posted and came up dry. Forget it. I'll call up a pro shop for answers from now on.
Wow, Really? I'll tell you something about me. I go by my instincts, gut feelings. They serve me well. This personal attack confirms what I felt. BTW you started the personal insults and you are the first to ever do so here.
I guess I should have sugarcoated my answer. "There's no catching in pool. I would stop the game talk to the T.D. or league operator. Next time disqualify. Lose of game, loose the match!" XXXOOO FWIW you have no idea how I operate. My friends are hand picked but not by me. My friends are loyal as am I.
Regarding the video, you might want to ask YouTube how they feel! You posted a link and if you already saw the video why would you be asking for clarification?
And I gave you a good answer IMO.
Simply because you read something between the lines. I won't reply to any of your posts if it makes you all warm and fuzzy inside.
You Tube has a share button. They love to be linked to. No one who puts content up on a public site has a problem with being linked to. (Now downloading, re-purposing and reselling, that would be a different matter.) That's how they make their money, by the advertisements that appear at the beginning of many of the videos or in the border of the pages. The billiard organizations that post videos often do so because they include advertisements. All you had to do was to roll over the link with your cursor and look at the actual URL data that appears in the lower left of your browser window (which in this case is exactly the same as the link) to see that it was a legitimate YouTube link. Then you might have seen an interesting case in a professional match where it appears the rules were broken and overlooked. End of story -have a nice day.