log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Ball In Hand In Nine Ball


Ball In Hand In Nine Ball

In Nine Ball, if the shooter fails to strike the object ball or scratches, does the cue ball not become ball in hand for their opponent?

Also, doesn't this mean that the opponent can place it anywhere on the table they please, including the area behind the head string?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Ball In Hand In Nine Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. lukesmichael on 9/30/2006 3:15:43 AM

    When the shooting player commits a foul of any kind in the game of nine ball, the opposing player absolutely gets cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

  2. lukeluke on 9/30/2006 3:18:38 AM

    Thanks! So can you just line the cue ball up with the correct object ball even when the shot may be a sure one? Also, is this the general rule for most versions of 9 ball? I have found lots of information online, but much of it is contradictary.

    Nine ball rules can be so confusing sometimes!

    Any help would be appreciated.

  3. lukeGinger on 9/30/2006 3:23:34 AM

    Yes. This is based on the the world standarized rules. This basically means that you can be playing 9 Ball anywhere in the world and say "hey, let's play some 9 ball" and be assured that those would be the rules that are followed.

    There may be exceptions in tournaments, but they will be established before hand. Also, if you are playing "house rules" always be sure to clarify before the match begins.

    Hope this helps.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Ball In Hand In Nine Ball

  • Title: Ball In Hand In Nine Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/30/2006 3:13:22 AM