log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

9 Ball Rules for Pocketing Balls Other Than the Called Ball

9 Ball Rules for Pocketing Balls Other Than the Called Ball

I have a question about the rule of winning 9-ball. If someone calls a combination onto the 9 ball; example, 4 on to 9 in corner pocket and the shot is successful but the 4 continues into the pocket after the nine. Do you win or lose the game?

Also I would like to know if the situation is same on breaking. For example, if you make the 9 ball and then another ball drops in any other pocket, Do you win or lose?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

9 Ball Rules for Pocketing Balls Other Than the Called Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Stealth66quickshot on 5/5/2008 9:37:33 AM

    I believe you win on both counts. They are both legal shots.

  2. Stealth66Mitch Alsup on 5/5/2008 4:33:37 PM

    9-ball is not a "call shot" game under BCA rules.

    As long as you hit the lowest numbered ball the shot is legal. Any number of ball can go in (in any order) and if you sink the 9-ball on a legal shot, you win.

    Now, if you have turned 9-ball into a call shot game, then under liberal interpretation of the BCA rules, if you sink the 9-ball and it was not called (or in this case called correctly) the 9-ball is spotted and your inning ends. So, if you are playing no-slop you spot the 9-ball and the game continues with the 9-ball spotted and opponent shoting; or if you are not playing no-slop, you simply win.

    In neither case do you loose.

    Only under "pay machine" rules does this constitude a loss.

  3. Stealth66quickshot on 5/5/2008 10:23:21 PM

    9 Ball - Object of the Game and General Description (Regulation 5.1)

    9 ball is played with a cue ball and nine object balls numbered 1 through 9. 9 ball is a "rotation" game, meaning that the balls are shot in numerical order. The shooting player must strike the lowest numbered ball on the table first. Players are not required to call any shot, and the game is won when the nine ball is pocketed. A player retains their turn at the table as long as they strike the lowest numbered ball first, avoid fouls, and pockets a ball on each shot. After a miss, the incoming player must shoot from the position left by the previous player, but after any foul the incoming player may start with the cue ball anywhere on the table. The player need not pocket the lowest numbered ball to continue shooting. He may, for example, shoot the 1-ball into the 4-ball thus pocketing the 4. He will continue shooting but must again strike the 1 ball first. If the player shoots the 1-ball into the 9-ball and the 9 is pocketed, the game is over.

  4. Stealth66Firework on 5/19/2008 5:34:40 AM

    You won then. If you pocket 9-ball, you should not worry about other object balls whatever they do.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


9 Ball Rules for Pocketing Balls Other Than the Called Ball

  • Title: 9 Ball Rules for Pocketing Balls Other Than the Called Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 5/5/2008 8:19:31 AM