log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

9-Ball Push Rule


9-Ball Push Rule

I played in a local 9-ball tournament yesterday and a question and argument about push rules occurred.

In a game I played, I broke the rack and made no balls. My opponent then called "push" without hitting a ball, not even the cue ball. I reviewed the table and gave it back to him also without hitting a ball, including the cue ball. He then shot the cue ball into the 1 ball (the object ball) but did not touch a rail. I thought that that would give me ball-in-hand as the "push"-ing was over (since I gave it back to him after him calling "push") but he said it was still considered a push and did not have to make contact with a rail.

In this case, should he have had to hit the rail after hitting the 1 ball, or is it still considered a push after I gave it back to him?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

9-Ball Push Rule

Replies & Comments

  1. erinem2003fredo on 4/7/2011 10:25:23 AM

    I think I would have stopped him when he called push and didn't touch the ball..doesn't a legal push shot require the player to hit the ball?

  2. erinem2003Mitch Alsup on 4/8/2011 4:24:25 PM

    A legal push shot requires that the tip of a cue stick make contact with the cue-ball. A legal push does not require any other ball-to-ball contacts, nor ball-to-rail contact.

    But more importantly, a legal push shot requires the opponent to say "push".

  3. erinem2003Jay Janzen on 4/24/2011 8:34:18 AM

    The Push-Out is a specific rule and is very clear in its execution. See Rule 2.4 of the World Standardized Rules ver 21.12.2007. Specifically, the Shooter is the Player who executed the Break Shot, remains at the table if no Foul is committed. (Rule 2.3)

    I hope this is helpful to you. Cheers, Jay

  4. erinem2003Fenwick on 4/28/2011 1:23:05 PM

    Your question has been answered. One thing I would like to add is you can't call a push and hit the intended ball.

    Example, after you break and a ball is pocketed you find yourself snookered. The next ball is the 1, 2 or 3. If you call a push and hit the next ball it's a foul. You can however call nothing, Texas Express rules and hit the 1, 2, or 3 etc.

  5. erinem2003Jay Janzen on 4/28/2011 7:46:17 PM

    I am curious as to what rules you are quoting... the world standardized rules version 21.12.2007 make no mention of what you are quoting. Please provide a reference.

    Cheers, Jay

  6. erinem2003Fenwick on 4/29/2011 6:03:24 AM

    I can't. It's a matter of common sense. If you can hit the next intended ball why would you call a push?

    The only reference is what I've learned from playing Willie Munson and talking to George Pawelski.

    So I'll amend my statement and say it's a gamblers rule until I can produce proof. I'll go a step further and say I was wrong. It's happened before!

  7. erinem2003Fenwick on 5/2/2011 6:45:56 PM

    I've checked and I was wrong! Never mind. ;-0

  8. erinem2003tasha_silvester on 10/11/2012 3:00:08 PM

    It depends what rules you are playing by. Some sets of rules allow you to pus some do not.

    • WPA and BCA allow push outs
    • APA does not allow push outs

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

9-Ball Push Rule

  • Title: 9-Ball Push Rule
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/27/2011 1:17:45 PM