log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

who gets the 8 ball call on the last ball scratch?


who gets the 8 ball call on the last ball scratch?

Hi there, I recently have some friendly games with some partners. On one acasison there was a brief discussion on who has the right to call the pocket for the eight ball is the person with only one ball left scratches. Can the person who scratches still call the 8 ball pocket or its his opponent who has this right,? Thanks.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

who gets the 8 ball call on the last ball scratch?

Replies & Comments

  1. QuiqueJESquickshot on 2/9/2009 1:32:03 PM

    If a person scratches his opponent gets ball in hand and gets to shoot the 8 ball providing he has pocketed all his own balls and the 8 is the only one left.

  2. QuiqueJESFenwick on 2/9/2009 6:19:05 PM

    I found it rather hard to follow exactly what the question you're asking is. So I'll ask a few questions and maybe you can clear it up. What rules are you playing; BCA, APA, bar rules or last pocket? quickshot is correct that the incoming player after making his last ball would have pocket choice. Now if the person who scratched gets back to the table it would then be his pocket choice if all his balls have already been made. Last pocket is a "non-standard" game with no current **official **rules. Is there something I'm missing in your question?

  3. QuiqueJESquickshot on 2/9/2009 8:52:10 PM

    I just assumed that the person who got BIH would sink the 8 ball and the game be over. (Power of positive thought). If the person with BIH misses the 8 ball the first person who scratched comes back to the table. If he has any object balls that are his, he must clear all his object balls before shooting for the 8 ball.

    Fenwick raises some pertinent questions. Your post does not clearly indicate what you are playing. APA and BCA have some difference in their rules.

  4. QuiqueJESQuiqueJES on 2/12/2009 8:26:47 AM

    Thanks my friend for your help, but I still have the doubt.

    This was a friendly game in a sport bar. This situation is: He has only one ball left in the table. I have 3 balls left.

    He hits his last ball but scratches in the same pocket . I understand that in normal situation when there is not scratching, you have to hit the 8 ball in the same pocket were your last ball was in. But since he scratches and the 8 ball was near this pocket I think is too convenient for you not to be too careful not to scratch because anyway you are hitting the 8 ball in this pocket. I think that because he scratches, then I have the right to send him to another pocket, must certainly a center one.

  5. QuiqueJESFenwick on 2/12/2009 6:55:33 PM

    "Last pocket is a "non-standard" game with no current official rules." Do a search. You need to establish the rules before the game starts.

  6. QuiqueJESquickshot on 2/12/2009 7:45:39 PM

    Then I suggest that the next time you need an opinion please define the game being played and by whose rules.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

who gets the 8 ball call on the last ball scratch?

  • Title: who gets the 8 ball call on the last ball scratch?
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/9/2009 1:04:40 PM