log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

White flew out, black goes in


White flew out, black goes in

A friend and I just finished a Billiard game.

Both of us had only the black ball left. " When one of us shot, the white ball flew out of the table while the black ball went into the right hole.

Do this person who shooted win or loose?

Very grateful for serious answers.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

White flew out, black goes in

Replies & Comments

  1. TonyGustafssonTonyGustafsson on 2/26/2010 1:24:09 PM

    Sorry, forgot to mention that we played 8-ball,

  2. TonyGustafssonterry bare on 2/26/2010 1:30:39 PM

    I assume you are talking about snooker. The black goes back on it's spot, and the other player now shoots from the D. There is also 7 points awarded because of the foul. The player who potted the black, would not be awarded 7 points, because he fouled on the same shot. Basically the game is over, because the the player who committed the foul is now more than 7 points in arrears. You could carry on in hopes that the leader would somehow foul after that on his own, but i wouldn't count on it.

  3. TonyGustafssonMitch Alsup on 2/26/2010 1:36:39 PM

    In 8-ball, and depending on the rules, this would be a loss. The cue ball took a scratch. Scratch on the 8-ball is Loss of Game.

    In olden times, 1970, The 8-ball would be spotted and the incomming player gets BIK (Ball in Kitchen). This was such a common event that players practice a head-shot regularly and it was found that a 1/2 ball hit 2/3rds of a diamond off center at the string would pot the 8-ball.

    There are also sets of rules where the 8-ball gets spotted, and the inicomming player gets BIH--which is just as good as the outgoing player just taking the loss.

  4. TonyGustafssonterry bare on 2/26/2010 1:39:27 PM

    Pocketing the 8 ball

    Once all the player's object balls are pocketed, he/she can now attempt to sink the 8 ball and win. To win, he/she must specify the pocket it will land in, and make it in that pocket. If it is shot in to the wrong pocket, if the cue ball is potted, or if there is a fault (see below), he/she loses. If neither the cue ball nor the eight ball is potted, the player's inning is over. Playing the 8 ball

    When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball, except when the 8-ball is the first ball contacted in the shot sequence. 8 Ball Faults

    When one player commits a fault, the other player gets "ball in hand", that is, they may place the cue ball anywhere on the table before playing their next shot. This is one area of substantial disagreement in 8-ball rules: some (including those of the BCA) play that (after the break) the cue ball may be placed anywhere, and shoot at anything. Other rule sets suggest that the player with "ball in hand" may only place the cue ball in the "kitchen", and must shoot out of the "kitchen" before hitting any ball. This means that they may not shoot at a ball inside the "kitchen" directly. However, if all their balls are inside the "kitchen", they can request that the one closest to the head string be placed on the head spot. Under BCA rules, if the cue ball is pocketed on the break, the cue ball must be placed in the "kitchen" and shot out. If he/she sinks the cue ball while playing on the black, it will be an immediate foul and the opposite player will receive two shots whether or not he or she is on the black. If he or she sinks the black and the cue ball he or she will autoObject Balls Leaving the Billiard Table

    If any object ball is leaves the table, it is considered a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which results in a loss of game. Any jumped object balls are not re-spotted.

  5. TonyGustafssonquickshot on 2/26/2010 4:47:50 PM

    The white ball left the table and the black ball went into the pocket. That is a foul or the same as a scratch when the the cue ball left the table. Whichever of you made the shot it is lost of game for that person.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

White flew out, black goes in

  • Title: White flew out, black goes in
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/26/2010 1:15:09 PM