log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Stupid Question from a Stupid Rookie

Stupid Question from a Stupid Rookie

So I play APA about 99% of the time, got my own little hand book n stuff and still don't know this one basic rule, possibly I just overlooked it. Anyways it has to do with the "frozen ball" and hitting a "masse" or something crazy like this. I was called for a foul with a frozen ball and not hitting masse on the shot. I think. I'm not even to sure what the hell I'm talking about right now! If anyone can figure this out and decipher my stupidity and poorly asked question I would much appreciate it. Thanks!

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Stupid Question from a Stupid Rookie

Replies & Comments

  1. Justanotherevolutionaryquickshot on 6/14/2008 7:38:31 PM

    There is no such thing as a stupid question. I'm not sure about what you are referring to. Was the cue ball frozen to the object ball? If so, you may have been called for a push shot. You cannot push the CB into an OB. You have to make what is called a (at least I do) a semi masse shot that does not directly push the OB ball in any particular direction. It would be to your advantage to find out about the shot. Secondly, the question is not stupid nor are you for asking it. If you're playing APA on a team your Captain should know the ans. Good luck and have fun. Take the time to learn about all those diferent shots. The information in on this site in the Billiard Rules at the top of the page.

  2. JustanotherevolutionaryJustanotherevolutionary on 6/14/2008 8:50:09 PM

    Wow, you could not have answered that better, and considering the way I asked it, I'm surprised anyone could answer it at all. You've been a tremendous help quickshot.

    Thank You!

  3. Justanotherevolutionaryquickshot on 6/14/2008 9:31:51 PM


  4. JustanotherevolutionaryMitch Alsup on 6/16/2008 6:31:06 PM

    When an object ball is close to the cue ball, one has to be careful to avoid two different fouls. A) a push shot, B) a double hit.

    If the cue tip is still in contact with the cue ball when the object ball contact is made, then this is a push shot foul.

    If the cue ball bounces back from the object ball and hits the cue tip again, then this is a double hit foul.

    To avoid these fouls, raise the cue high in the air and strike downward on the cue ball. Thus, the cue tip will deflect away from the cue ball and avoid the double hit foul and also avoid the push shot foul.

  5. JustanotherevolutionaryOldShooter on 6/30/2008 4:27:25 PM

    I had a judge watch a shot at the APA Nationals. I used extreme high english with a bit of right using a level cue.. I said the tip would hit and jump off the cueball in the same manner as a masse. The judge observed, agreed, and ruled it a legal shot. Incidentally, using the right english put almost a full diamond of throw on the object ball going the length of the table allowing me to pot it.


  6. Justanotherevolutionarydlabout on 10/9/2008 12:44:59 PM

    Call me crazy but I don't believe APA has a "45 rule". I know the BCA and VNEA do but the APA doesn't. A "45 rule" means you must address the cue from 45 degrees vertical or horizontal from the object ball. In any case it is always best to get clarification BEFORE you shoot the shot. Just my 2 cents.


  7. Justanotherevolutionaryquickshot on 10/9/2008 1:38:23 PM

    Never heard of it?

  8. Justanotherevolutionarydlabout on 10/9/2008 1:45:01 PM

    quickshot, The 45 rule is essentially to make sure you're not doing a push shot. In the case of the APA they are trying to keep it as friendly as possible for the novice shooter. That is the only reason that they don't have any rule on frozen balls. The say you can't use the cue to push the CB into an object ball but they don't specifically call out a frozen ball situation.

    Of course I can only speak for my own experience. And over the years the APA has made many changes.


upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Stupid Question from a Stupid Rookie